Spicy Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I changed the recipe a bit based on previous reviews. I reduced the crystallized ginger by half (next time, I'll reduce it a little more), I omitted the red pepper flakes, and I added about 1/4 cup of sugar. I needed to cook a little longer than instructed as I wanted more of the cranberries to pop. Everyone who likes cranberries liked this recipe and I will use again. Note: I found that the ginger intensified on the second day. Keep this in mind if you are making a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is absolutely wonderful! Very light and refreshing. I did take the advice of other reviewers: used orange juice instead of water, extended the cooking time until the cranberries burst, didn't use the pepper flakes and cut the amount of crystalized ginger in half. I did, however, add some of the ginger syrup left over from making the crystalized ginger for a bit more kick. At the end of cooking, I also added some pomegranate seeds for a nice crunch. This went over so well on Thanksgiving, I had to make another batch the next day! Did I mention that it's fantastic over vanilla ice cream? Many, many thanks, Bea, for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
My 12-year old granddaughter made it with me and we both loved the recipe. A caution, however -- use less ginger because it grows stronger as time goes by. She liked it better without the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful combo of piquant/sweet. Didn't have crystalized ginger; used about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and 2 TBl. of balsamic vinegar. Reminds me of Autumn Chutney from Harry & David. If there is any leftover chutney; I'll be combining it with whipping cream to use as a sauce for pork tenderloin or chicken breasts served over wild rice. This is a gourmet meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Wonderful, very tart cranberry chutney and much better than the plain canned version! Crystallized ginger was not available, but one teaspoon of ground ginger is a more than adequate substitute. This made enough to also fill a half pint jar and present to a friend who had invited us to dinner. It is great with ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Very tasty!! I followed the directions but used crystalized ginger and only 1/8 tsp since I made it a few days ahead. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this recipe was Fantastic and versatile. I served it over a brick of cream cheese with crackers. I thought the ginger was just right and loved the little kick from the pepper. I did add 1/4 cup of white sugar. It also goes well with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Left out the apricots and added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Absolutely delicious. Much better than any other cranberry chutney/salad/etc. I've ever had. This will be a permanent addition to my holiday menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
Everyone loved it! I added more sugar than called for because we like a sweet sauce. It was very tangy, but not as spicy as I expected. Even the kids loved it. A very different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Very good, great flavor, wonderful on our thanksgiving turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States