Spicy Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Very good, great flavor, wonderful on our thanksgiving turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner last year. It was the first time I ever WANTED to eat my turkey with cranberry sauce. This also made an EXCELLENT spread for leftover turkey sandwiches. This will be a new Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Tasty, easy to make. A new Thanksgiving dinner favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was wonderful! Great with our Thanksgiving turkey. I used a little less pepper flakes since I made it in advance. Make sure you let the cranberries "pop" to get the full cranberry flavor mixed with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving 06. There were guests who didn't even know what chutney was - they do now. There wern't any leftovers. This is a great addition to our dinner and will remain on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I just can't give this a higher rating. I did reduce the crystallized ginger to 1/2 of what the recipe called for, but it still overpowered the chutney after one day. I really wish I hadn't tried it at all.....quite an expensive disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Served this at Thanksgiving and it got high marks. Great on a turkey sandwich with a bit of mayo & lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Wonderful, very tart cranberry chutney and much better than the plain canned version! Crystallized ginger was not available, but one teaspoon of ground ginger is a more than adequate substitute. This made enough to also fill a half pint jar and present to a friend who had invited us to dinner. It is great with ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is absolutely wonderful! Very light and refreshing. I did take the advice of other reviewers: used orange juice instead of water, extended the cooking time until the cranberries burst, didn't use the pepper flakes and cut the amount of crystalized ginger in half. I did, however, add some of the ginger syrup left over from making the crystalized ginger for a bit more kick. At the end of cooking, I also added some pomegranate seeds for a nice crunch. This went over so well on Thanksgiving, I had to make another batch the next day! Did I mention that it's fantastic over vanilla ice cream? Many, many thanks, Bea, for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States