Spicy Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
OMG! from someone who does not usually eat cranberry sauce, this was excellent. I did not use the pepper flakes, so it was not hot/spicy. The flavors all blended so well and I had no left overs because they were eating it all by itself. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This dish is really good, it has lots of flavor and is best if you like some spicy heat. The raisins and apricots are tasty and definitely cook the cranberries until they pop. I think I will incorporate it in a cheese ball with crackers or vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this up last night and it tastes divine! The only ginger I had was in a jar so I put a heaping teaspoon in. I think my family will be reqesting I make this from now on along with my day ahead pototoes! What have I done! LOL Thanks for this awesome, pretty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was awesome and was a hit at our Thanksgiving Dinner we had on Saturday. It was the first time I ever used fresh cranberries and won't be the last. The combination of apple, cranberry & ginger (along with the balance of ingredients) were well suited. I have already planned making this again to be included in my gift baskets to each of my family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe as written except for simmering for a longer time (approx. 20 minutes) and this was fantastic. I made the chutney the day before thanksgiving and reheated it right before dinner. Neither the ginger nor the pepper flakes were too strong. The balance of tangy, sweet, and spicy was just right. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Served this over baked Brie & was very good. Per other reviews, I decreased the ginger & couldn't taste it it, so next time I will make, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Although this was nice and easy to make, and looked great on the table, I wasn't crazy about the flavor of this one...maybe I'm just not a cranberry chutney kinda girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this recipe was Fantastic and versatile. I served it over a brick of cream cheese with crackers. I thought the ginger was just right and loved the little kick from the pepper. I did add 1/4 cup of white sugar. It also goes well with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Just tested this recipe for this coming Thanksgiving and it is fantastic. I'm going to leave out the ginger and red pepper flakes because I want to make sure it's a dish that will make the majority of palettes at my dinner table happy! I'm sure it will.. Make sure to add a 1/4 cup of white sugar and cook covered for the first five minutes after adding the cranberries to allow some cranberries to pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I'd have to say this was just so-so...and no one complimented it after trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States