Spicy Couscous with Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Really liked this - it was a good blend of spicy and sweet. Like others have done, I added 1 zucchini. I would also increase the amount of dates the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Beautiful recipe, very easy. I added some squash and, like other reviewers, added the stock and couscous into the same pot the vegetables were in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this recipe. It's easy and fast and you can change it up depending on what you have in the kitchen. I can never find whole anise so I have always used fennel. I also add either raisins or chopped, dried, apricots in addition to the dates. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Substituted some red curry paste for chilies and added a zucchini and a can of kidney beans. Left out the lemon juice and pepper (personal preferences.) It was wonderful! Tip: Cut the dates lengthwise to remove pits easily before chopping. Don't forget to remove the star anise pods before eating. More vegetable broth may be needed to get the couscous consistency you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
"A food so nice they named it twice!" :) The rave reviews for this dish initially sold me. I gave the couscous a whirl, and was in awe of the superb mix of flavors. It reminds me of a Southern Mexico stew that combines many of the same flavors- cinnamon, anise, hot peppers, dates (they also add boiled eggs and potatoes!). The sugar from the dates nicely caramelized the rest of the veggies near the end of the cooking process. The warming spices are perfect for the coming cold months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wow! This stuff is delicious. Quite the wild array of flavors and spices. I would recommend much more cinnamon and more anise but besides that puuuuurfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I just use Clic brand couscous spices and a little bit of chili paste instead of assembling the spices on this list. Very versatile; you can use any vegetables you might have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was great...I first thought the lemon juice would make it too tart but it didn't. I used raisns because I was out of dates, which I am sure changed the flavor quite a bit. Star anise is essential in this recipe. I think the same method would work well with bulgar or even long-grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is really delicious. I used one of those large dried red peppers like you see hanging in bunches, seeds and all. It was very spicy, but we like things spicy. I used about twice the amount of mushrooms called for, just because I had some on hand I needed to use up. Like one of the other reviewers, I just added the broth to the sauted veggies, brought it to a low boil then stirred in the couscous. Cover and remove from heat, ready in 5 minutes. Next time I make this, I plan to add some zucchini to the veggies already called for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
pretty good, next time i would definitely add more dates, and more spice and some other veggies. This dish is a great base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States