Spicy Corn Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I crave this dip all the time now. Some things I've learned about making it- Drain, drain, drain anything that is liquidly (especially the corn). The first time I made this I dumped everything in a bowl, and it was kinda runny. But the 2nd time I made it I drained the corn and it made such a huge difference. Also, when dealing with the spicey aspects of the dip, I used 8oz of chilies instead 7, I put the peppers and the green onions together in a food processor and spooned in the "perfect" amount-- I added more onions and peppers to the food processor than recommended so that way I wasn't limited, nor was I adding too much. I've made this twice and everyone loves it and I plan to make it many many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I made this dip for a baby shower and the ladies ate it up! The bowl was empty! We also served it at a Bar-B-Que and it was a huge hit! Serve with Frito Scoopables! I did not use all three peppers, I only put one fresh pepper in the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Whenever I make this, I eat and eat until I can't chew any more. It's hard to stop. Definitely refrigerate this overnight because that's when the magic happens and the flavors blend together and the peppers heat everything up. I like it a little hotter so I don't remove the seeds from the jalepenos and I also add 3 habaneros and their seeds. Three of each seems to be the best for most people I've made this for. When it's just for me, I add 5 habaneros and it's not inferno-hot, but just enough to make your mouth tingle for a while. This makes about 7 cups of dip and you'll need two 15oz bags of Fritos Scoops to go with it. Super easy, super fast, super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This was a great recipe! I wasn't sure how corn would taste in a sour cream dip, but it was yummy! I didn't have that many people, so I actually halved the recipe and it was perfect to serve to about 4 people. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I thought this dip was very good, but was not happy with the eye appeal, so i added a jar of chopped pimentos and it gave it a better look. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This dip was new and interesting. I served it with tortilla chips and crackers. Because it was different my guests were a little hesitant, but after trying it they kept going back for more. Because of the spiciness I wouldn't recommend it for children. But it is a nice change from salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I leave out the green onions and green chilies and just add an entire can of diced jalepenos (with some of the juice) and add extra Monteray Jack cheese and then the KEY to this dish is to bake it in the oven until bubbly and eat with tortilla chips! TRUST ME it's a million times better served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Big party, this and the tortilla wraps were the only things left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMEDLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooringsport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe and so easy. made it for an office party and got rave reviews. flavor is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
Wonderful dip and easy to prepare. This dip was a big hit at a recent church social. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States