Spicy Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
So easy. I found that the moisture from rinsing the greens was ample to cook the greens. After cooking the bacon (and removing half of the grease) I placed the greens into the skillet with the other ingredients and simmered until tender. I served these on new years day with "slow cooker spicy black-eyed peas" submited by MJ46NY. A delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe as written. Tonight, I had a vegetarian guest at dinner, so I made this recipe without bacon - I added 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tsp liquid smoke to the boiling water instead. It turned out great, and everyone was asking what gave it the great flavour. It seems like a lot of vinegar, but most of the vinegar taste burns off, leaving a nice fresh taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I used a 16oz bag of frozen turnip greens in place of the bunch of collards. The other change I made was to add 2 packets of splenda to try and counteract the bitterness frozen greens tend to have. Really really yummy. Will use this for the rest of the greens in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The spice collard greens are very good and tasty. Thank you for sharing it. I will be making mine like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This is a GREAT, simple recipe! In fact, I made my New Year's greens last year using this recipe and, when I wanted to make them again this year, realized I had lost the recipe! Thankfully, I've found it and will keep it this time. As one of the true "GRITS" (Girls Raised in the South), I can honestly say this is one of the best recipes for good Southern-style greens I've found! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This was my first time making greens and I was so proud of myself because of this recipe. It took longer than 30 mins to cook but everything worked out. I used smoked hamhock instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I too have southern back ground and we have always put some sort of pork in with the collard's, but what make's this recipe so good and different is the chicken stock. Plain water just doesn't cut it for me any more... I used a mild hot sauce because of the pepper and it was just great. Thanks for the gift. nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Thank you for the great recipe. I like my greens sweet, so I added some sugar. I am sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
this was a simple recipe to make :) i will defentally use this recipe again with my frozen greens....... with a little less vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Quick and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States