Spicy Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
First time trying collards, added WAY to much cayenne but besides that it was great. Very simple recipe. I did add some brown sugar to my serving and it was great. Will try again with less/no cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I am a Southerner but I am not a huge fan of greens. My 8-year-old daughter is though, so I cooked these for her and her mother using collards from our garden. Fantastic! They haven't stopped raving about them since. Even I loved them. I added 2 cloves minced garlic to the bacon drippings at first, cut the vinegar to 1/2 cup and added a couple of tablespoons of sugar because we have not had a frost yet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe as written. Tonight, I had a vegetarian guest at dinner, so I made this recipe without bacon - I added 1 tbsp olive oil and 2 tsp liquid smoke to the boiling water instead. It turned out great, and everyone was asking what gave it the great flavour. It seems like a lot of vinegar, but most of the vinegar taste burns off, leaving a nice fresh taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Quick and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
this was a simple recipe to make :) i will defentally use this recipe again with my frozen greens....... with a little less vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought they were great but is missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious! I used a little less bacon. It took longer than 30 minutes to cook. Everyone enjoyed them. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Really good! This was my first time tasting collard greens. The cayenne adds some spice and the vinegar adds some tang, and it's all offset by the saltiness of the bacon. The water from washing the greens was enough to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I too have southern back ground and we have always put some sort of pork in with the collard's, but what make's this recipe so good and different is the chicken stock. Plain water just doesn't cut it for me any more... I used a mild hot sauce because of the pepper and it was just great. Thanks for the gift. nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States