Spicy Coconut and Lime Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good, but ended up pretty salty. I'll use low sodium soy sauce next time. This can be used as a side dish or use larger shrimp and make it a main course. I altered this recipe using half the amount of jalapenos and used thyme instead of cilantro (as I am not a fan.) Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Let me tell you... I never, I mean NEVER ever want to eat any other kind of shrimp other than these again! OMG! They are utterly delicious! I did change it slightly... I was having a party consisting of 50+ people coming so I had to up the quantities. Upon reading other reviews, I made the following changes... I used 6 pounds of shrimp, 9 jalapenos, 5 large lime (just the juice, I guess in my rush, I didn't remember to zest them), 7 heaping tablespoons minced garlic, 2 cups fresh cilantro, 2 cups sweetened shredded coconut, 1 cup oil & 1 cup soy sauce. I also added one can of coconut milk to the mix. Zipped everything through my food processor and marinated the shrimp for 3-4 hours. My marinade was not thick but it was chunky and when I skewered them, I made sure I didn't shake anything off of them, so what stuck to the shrimp stayed on the shrimp. Hubby grilled them up and these were cleared out in no time at all! Even my husbands family who usually doesn't comment on the food was asking what was in them! That tells me something... Yum! I can't wait to eat these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My husband loves this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe states. One week we ate this as an appetizer and the next week my husband made shrimp tacos from this recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This dish is amazing! I did alter it a bit however... added 1/3 cup of lime juice, 2 tbs of coconut milk, 1 tbs cayenne pepper, 2 tbs chili powder. When grilling poured some of the extra marinade onto the shrimp, the grill almost toasted the coconut which was great. Then served up the last bit of the extra marinade as a dipping sauce, was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a fantastic (and fantastically easy) recipe. The only thing I changed was to set aside a few tablespoons of the marinade to brush on while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very tasty. The jalapeno was just enough spice to tingle the lips. I served the shrimp over rice pilaf and the combination was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I cut the soy in half and the results were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The marinade smelled good when putting it together, but the shrimp just didn't taste good. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Love this - I've made it a few times now and can't get over how the flavors blend so well together. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Yum! Very tasty and not too spicy. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Coconut and lime marinated kale cooked on a grill.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States