Spicy Chinese Barbeque Riblets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My husband and I loved these ribs! They have tons of flavour. I followed the recipe but only used 1 tsp. of Sriracha hot chili sauce, and cut the rack of ribs into 3 and 4 ribs pieces. After roasting them uncovered, I moved them to a large Corningware casserole dish, poured the sauce over top, put on the lid, and continued baking. Result: Perfection! I served the ribs with plain basmati rice and veggies. Thank you Food Fighter for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved this recipe as if it was my own. I substituted hot pepper sauce for a Korean chili sauce. It makes for a hell of a kick in the after taste and the chili's tenderizes the meat just a notch more. It gets not better then that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haynes006
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
OMG, this is so tasty and so easy to prepare! This is my first time preparing ribs of any sort and they came out tender, juicy and super flavorful with the sauce. I made everything exactly as indicated with the only change being that I reduced the wine by a bit only because it would make the sauce too watery. Other than that, followed the recipe and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Awesome Flavor!!!!! the only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 if the cooking method, they came out a bit tough. I made them a second time, cooking the ribs as I usually do, wrapped in foil at 275 for 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Also the second time I made them my oldest sons friend was over, he's a 5 star restaurant manager and a trained chef, he suggested that I put the sauce in sauce pan on the stove bring in to a boil then put it on simmer and let it reduce until it was thicker. then I coated the ribs in the reduced sauce and broiled them for a few minutes until they browned up, you could also toss them on the grill. That made this 10 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This review is really about the sauce! This is good stuff - it was so hot outside that I really didn't want to turn on the oven so I mixed up the sauce - halving it and omitted the wine & I used sambal for the heat - I brushed the ribs with the sauce and wrapped tightly in heavy foil and put them on the BBQ on low indirect heat - then 2 hours later removed - brushed again and onto the grill = brushing with the sauce the whole time. Killer taste! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
OMG these were so good! I only had about 3/4 cup of hoisin sauce so I added a little bit of oyster sauce, and also a dash of toasted sesame oil. So tender, juicy, and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, because I forgot to read the directions fully. So I ended up marinating the riblets in the sauce and then baking them in the sauce, covered for 1 1/2 hours. They were still delicious. Next time I will half the sauce to make it the way it is directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Everyone loved these. I doubled the recipe. used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar....3/4 cup of each instead of 1 cup. @15 cloves of garlic....could have used more. 2 T Rooster Sauce.....should have used 4T, My husband would like to finish these on the grill to crisp them up. Wasn't sure whether to pour off fat after first 45 min. I will next time. I did cook these @6 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Fixed as written and used to coat country ribs on the grill. Really good flavor with just a hint of heat. You could really call it sweet and spicy. Will for sure put it in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Hubby re-proposed to me after making these! Seriously, this sauce is so incredibly delicious it is a must-try. I "working Mom'd" the recipe by cooking 4 racks of baby back ribs in the crock pot all day while I was at work (10 hours on low, with a bottle of beer poured in). Got home, removed ribs to a sheet pan, and poured sauce over the bottom side of ribs, then flipped over & poured on remaining sauce. Baked at 350 while I was making side dishes - about 30 to 45 minutes. Didn't have to double the sauce recipe. Was perfection! Ribs literally fell from the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States