Spicy Chili French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The whole family loved these yummy fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaandTrinity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These knocked our socks off! I changed the method a little, but not the ingredients, due to lack of time. I skipped the 10 min water soak (which would remove some surface starch) and then put them in my convection/microwave oven on fast bake. After ~15 minutes, I put them under the broiler to brown them up... for about 5 minutes, then stirred them up (they weren't in a single layer cause there were too many for the pan) and broiled 5 minutes longer. They never got crispy, which is not a big surprise with a liquid seasoning, but they were HUGE on flavor and DH commented several times: "wow, these fries are killer!!" I served them with the Green Chili Chicken Sandwiches from this site and it was a fine meal! Next time, I will make them the long way to compare results. Thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Since the fries never got crisp, even under the broiler, I decided to try something different: I mixed up the dry ingredients, deep fried the potatoes (twice to make them crisp) and then sprinkled the dry ingredients over the potatoes and mixed to distribute the spices evenly. With a 1/4 C. oil added to the original mixture, I can't imagine that frying them would use much more, if any, than that. My deep fryer is very good and the oil is 375* which allows little oil to be absorbed or cling to the fries. We liked this version even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were good waaaay salty better to put less and add more in the end if needed. They were not crispy so I increased the oven temp to 450 until they crisped up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very nice. I halved the salt and did 3/4 less cayenne--I don't do that spicy! I baked at 400 but they still didn't crisp up. I broiled for about 5 min to crisp them up a little, which worked a bit. Still, nice and spicy and awesome flavor, so worth the effort to see if a higher temp might work to crisp them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
good! family loved them, even the picky 4 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I liked the way these tasted but have to work on getting the crisp just right. I think the temp needs to be higher so I'll try that but the taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
OK, but I baked at 425. If I do these again, I'll reduce the cayenne pepper because you can't taste anything else. Different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are great. They're not supposed to be particularly crispy, but in order to insure maximum crispiness: Skip the water soaking step. That's to keep them from turning grey, which, after you add all the red stuff--they won't look grey. So skip that. I reduced my amount of oil and V-8 (spicy variety) til the total amount for this recipe was 1/3c. of liquid (not 1/2 c. as recipe would have it). Spray your pan with Pam, and spray the tops of your taters with Pam--both times. Don't skip the step where you flip them, that is ESSENTIAL in oven fries. You haven't got to flip them precisely, but you DO need to move them around on the sheet, or else they'll cook unevenly and any shot you had at crispness is gone. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and left out the salt (the V-8 has plenty for me.) Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were really good and easy to make! I didn't have tomato juice so I used barbeque sauce and only used a teaspoon of salt and no dried onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe closely and was surprised at how these turned out. Usually fries in the oven are too mushy for me, so I cut the potatoes very thin (about 1/4" thick strips) and they crisped up very nicely. Also add 1 tsp. of paprika to the mix and it will really help tie in all the flavors. Great submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States