Spicy Chili French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These were very tasty, though my family loves spicy food, so I upped the cayenne and chili powder, and also threw a little bit of Red Rooster Hot Sauce and chili paste. Gives it a flavorful spiciness to it, rather than just heat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabeau LeVoi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very tasty. The spiciness was just right. I even used 'spicy hot' veg juice. I will def keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
good fries.......the juice was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I took this recipe to another level; I used sweet potatoes! EXCELLENT! The marinade is very yummy, and I'm looking for other applications for this marinade. Next time I might use Snap-E-Tom for the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are a huge hit in my house! I make skinny fries, don't soak and put the oven to 400 degrees. Other than that I follow directions and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These fries were a big hit. They are packed with flavor. I did as another reviewer suggested and fried them in a deep fryer. I whisked together the oil, spicy vegetable juice and about 3/4 of the spice mix and let them sit for about 10 minutes. I fried the potatoes in 350 degree oil. At 375 degrees they browned too quickly before the inside was done. Then I sprinkled the remaining spice mix onto the fries after I drained them. I added a bit more salt. Fantastic. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe closely and was surprised at how these turned out. Usually fries in the oven are too mushy for me, so I cut the potatoes very thin (about 1/4" thick strips) and they crisped up very nicely. Also add 1 tsp. of paprika to the mix and it will really help tie in all the flavors. Great submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were really good and easy to make! I didn't have tomato juice so I used barbeque sauce and only used a teaspoon of salt and no dried onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are great. They're not supposed to be particularly crispy, but in order to insure maximum crispiness: Skip the water soaking step. That's to keep them from turning grey, which, after you add all the red stuff--they won't look grey. So skip that. I reduced my amount of oil and V-8 (spicy variety) til the total amount for this recipe was 1/3c. of liquid (not 1/2 c. as recipe would have it). Spray your pan with Pam, and spray the tops of your taters with Pam--both times. Don't skip the step where you flip them, that is ESSENTIAL in oven fries. You haven't got to flip them precisely, but you DO need to move them around on the sheet, or else they'll cook unevenly and any shot you had at crispness is gone. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and left out the salt (the V-8 has plenty for me.) Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States