Spicy Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I usually don't go for enchilada casseroles but I was pressed for time and had all the ingredients on hand. I used cream of chicken instead of flour and milk and used tostadas instead of tortillas. I drained the tomato/chili juice but kept the juice from the green chilis. It was delicious and even my food critic husband enjoyed it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Came out great. Some suggestions: you can easily forego the white sauce prep by substituting Mexican crema from the grocery store. Definitely "blister" the tortillas (fry on both sides in a few drops of oil) until a little browned and puffed. The flavor and texture of the finished dish will be 100% better. I added 3 tbls. Parmesan cheese to the white sauce. Also make certain to taste the white sauce to ensure that it has enough salt and black pepper. I served with beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't have tomatoes or chiles so I substituted salsa. Husband said definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was really good! Had some chicken we had boiled the night before in boullion (however you spell it) and seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder & pepper. Was looking for something to do with it besides chicken & dumplings & found this recipe. Used Rotel with lime & cilantro & didn't have any green chiles but used hot cherry peppers instead. Added a teaspoon of garlic because we like it and about a tsp of kosher salt. Put some crushed tortilla chips on the bottom of the dish & layered as instructed with the addition of cheese in the middle. Man, it was mmm mmm good! Just enough kick to make it interesting & not overly spicy. Thanks for posting this, Beverly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I used cream of chicken soup instead of four and broth. Also add some sour cream, taco seasoning, a little tabasco sauce. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The sauce never got thick for me so was really runny when finished. Wouldnt make again. Kind of bland even with chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
YUM! I loved this. I like it better than enchilladas. I added cayenne pepper and it still wasn't what I would call spicy, but it was delicious. Next time I might use salsa instead of tomatoes for extra flavor. It seems like a lot of tortillas when you're assmbling it, but don't use less - you really need them all. And pile on the cheese! This recipe is a bit of work, but should get easier and faster with repetition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I think it will be on regular rotation in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent casserole with low calories. It turned out spicier than I thought it would be, but we like spicy so it was perfect! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought this recipe is great for a healthy alternative to some of the other Mexican casserole dishes on this site. I didn't have any problem with the texture or the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Loved this! After reading other reviews, made only minor changes. I only used a half cup of chicken broth, drained the tomatoes first, and added some Cal-Mex seasoning (from World Market). I was worried when I took it out that it was going to be soupy, but it was only a little messy. LOVED the flavor, great spice. Will be added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States