Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Really good! I poached this chicken in the broth but did everything else as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe was delicious. There is something missing from the recipe, in step #5 it says to add the lime juice, but nowhere in the ingredients is lime juice listed other then the limes for garnishment. I used 2 tablespoons because I found another thai recipe similiar to this one and that's what it called for. Other then that, I followed this recipe to a T, and it was wonderful. Although, next time I would like a little more heat and will use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos. Also, this is a light soup recipe, and if your looking to make it more hearty try using basmati rice or glass noodle with it. They are both great. Thanks for sharing, will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Seriously delicious and very filling. Two minor changes: (i) 1 1/2 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs & 1 lb. chicken tenderloins rather than all thighs, and (ii) 4 tsp. red curry paste rather than 2 tsp. Chef John’s video for making this soup is worth watching, and apparently reflects the original way he made it versus this version seemingly altered by AR slightly. Great recipe, great soup . . . grand slam homer, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Make it easy on yourself and use Gourmet Garden. 1/2 tube minced ginger, 1/2 tube minced lemon grass, 4 tsp minced garlic, you will still need to strain it. I went to 3 stores before finding the red curry paste, and it really didn't add much spice. I would substitute ground red pepper and use a lot of it as the coconut milk neutralizes spice. I used 3 chicken breasts, and added 2 fresh tomatoes sliced at the end of the cooking. The fresh limes, and fresh cilantro are an absolute must. Oh yeah, the fish sauce is disgusting, so just use a little salt. Serve with jasmine rice or rice noodles. This soup is every bit as good as what I have had in restaurants in Hawaii, Key West, and Miami. The first time I tried it, I reported to my mom that I just had the most awakening soup that tasted of chicken, lime, and milk. Bizarre, but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just tried, written directions left out a couple steps, so watch the video (when to add prepared stock and how much lime juice (you squeeze two limes, and stock goes in just before coconut milk)). I loved it and I only like mild spice. I agree with another reviewer, the Thai Kitchen red curry paste is good, but I actually had to add more, and I only used 1 can of coconut milk! But this was very good with brown rice. Next time I will try the light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is very close to the Authentic Tom Yum soup we made in a cooking class in Thailand. Fabulous! We added 4x the amount of red curry paste and it wasn't very hot, but very flavorful. Love this recipe! A great alternative to boring chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this tonight. It is as easy as it is tasty. I am vegetarian so I made the usual swaps. Like others I added more curry paste (double). But other than that, I followed it to the letter. Fab!!! I highly recommend watching Chef Johns video as it makes it even easier. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
What a lovely soup. So many flavors! Based on another review and after tasting the Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste (no heat at all) I doubled the amount and added a healthy four teaspoons and it added a nice warmth. I also used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeno as that's what was in the fridge. I'm looking forward to having the remainder of this over brown rice tonight. I'll most certainly be making this soup again. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this last night for my in-laws who are "foodies" and members of gourmet clubs. They absolutely raved about this recipe and wanted to know where I got it. They both said it tasted "restaurant worthy". I am not an experienced chef so I like recipes that aren't too complicated. This recipe is not complicated but I do recommend watching the video as I found it very helpful to watch the steps being performed. The grocery store I went to didn't have fresh lemon grass so I bought the minced lemon grass that is sold in a tube. One tube equals 6 lemon grass stalks so I squeezed half of the tube into the chicken broth. It was perfect and I doubt I'll use fresh lemon stalk in the future. Also, I used 3/4 teaspoon red curry paste and the soup was not spicy at all. When I cook it just for me and my husband, I will kick it up a notch. Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe! Love it and will be making this from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was delicious served over jasmine rice. Used 1.5 lbs. chicken thighs and 1 lb. chicken breast. The thighs were definitely more flavorful. Red curry paste was not hot; had to triple the amount to get any heat. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States