Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe. I liked to add fresh tomatoes and pea pods at the very end to make it a little "fresher". And a little more lime juice than called for.....Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Amazing!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a habenero pepper with the jalepeno...great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and it is the best soup I've ever had. Didn't have the lemon grass so I used lemon rind. Really good! I will make this over and over. Oh and I think cilantro tastes like soap so did parsley instead. I was surprised that I even enjoyed the fresh jalapeno's on top. Way to go Chef John, I have to say I've enjoyed all of the recipes I've made of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
There are few recipes that I get really excited about, that I can't stop talking about. I LOVE this soup. I will make it again and again. I did not use the jalapenos as I found the red curry paste hot enough, but I don't like more than a bit of heat. I learned when I made it for a friend (beforehand, thankfully) who is allergic to shellfish that red curry paste usually has shrimp paste in it but a) it is possible to find it without, and b) green curry paste could be a decent substitute. Fish sauce is made of anchovies and I'd suggest that you give it a try if you haven't before, as it keeps it more authentically Thai. (Another reviewer was less enthusiastic.) The lime juice mentioned as missing by another reviewer is now indeed listed. Also the big reason to discard the lemongrass, garlic and ginger is that lemongrass is very fibrous and you don't want that in your soup. It's hard to pick it out later. Trust me, I have experience. But by the time you saute those ingredients and simmer them in the stock, they have done their job. With the lemongrass, chop off the top 1/3 and set aside for a different application, and put the bottom 2/3 in a little food processor and you will quickly be ready to saute. Finally, at the end you can add cooked rice, rice noodles, lightly steamed broccoli, or any vegetables you want to add more bulk but it is great on its own. And don't plan on much else for your meal, as a good hearty bowl is very filling. Well done Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I have made this over and over again. I crave it, it has become a staple. You gotta use thighs, they add so much more flavor, but I will use breast in a pinch. I tend to use a lot more lemon grass, ginger, and garlic than called for, but I love the flavors, my whole house smells SO GOOD!!! I'll make some skinny rice noodles, put those in a bowl, and pour soup on them. Looks very nice. Makes me feel like a real chef, lol;) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I went the quick and easy route and used prepared lemongrass, garlic and ginger and only 1 can of coconut milk. This soup is WONDERFUL and I know I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My husband surprised me by making this for me one evening and it is now a regular meal. It is especially nice if you are feeling a bit under the weather. He makes it as is with the addition of rice vermicelli. I serve it with fresh thai shrimp and veggie wraps on the side and they actually taste great dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very authentic, this soup was such a hit with my family! I made a few minor changes... like adding more pureed ginger to the soup once it was all mixed together and I added probably about triple the red curry paste. Delicious!! 5 stars or more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Steen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. I served it with 1/4 cup basmati rice. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Thought this was delish. Added 4 tsp of curry as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States