Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just made this and it was outstanding!! I would be excited to have this soup served to me in a restaurant. The house smelled so wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I had some problems with the recipe. First, despite using less chicken than recommended, I ended up needing to add extra broth as there wasn't enough liquid. Second, even with the extra broth, it was almost impossible to skim the top of fat, as my spoon kept running into chicken pieces and vegetables. Third, I really think the chicken should be more seasoned on its own, either with some kind of marinade or rub or at least in the skillet with salt and pepper. Finally, I wonder if maybe the garlic, lemongrass, and ginger should stay in the soup rather than being discarded. The soup I ended up with was very bland, other than the jalapeno slices, and they were just random heat since they were put in at the end as garnish. I will admit I did not use the cilantro as I strongly dislike it. This is the second "spicy" "Thai" soup I've made from Allrecipes that has been bland. I have a few others to try, but I'm thinking I might have to make up my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Absolutely unbelievable. No changes needed, this is perfect... I did 2 tablespoons of the curry paste the first time and wanted more heat so this time I did 4 tablespoons and for me it still wasn't too much. Amazing soup!! On a Paleo diet and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good, everyone loved it. I used lemon zest because I couldn't find lemon grass. I could have used more curry paste, but I didn't add the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Awesome soup!!! A def keeper.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
KUDOS Chef John!!! L_O_V_E this soup ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love and enjoying it! Thanks for sharing. I modified it to include double the garlic and ginger root, one extra tsp of red curry and one extra jalapeno and 2 lime juice instead of one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this with shrimp instead of chicken, and had to substitute soy sauce for the fish sauce. It was very very good. I'm not really too fond of spicy food, but this is the perfect amount of spice. I agree with one of the other reviews, that I think this would be very good with shitake mushrooms instead of the white. Will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good. Next time I think I will increase the curry paste for more spice, but no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
WOW! What a great soup recipe! Easy to make and tastes wonderful...especially on a cold, blizzardy day!!! Dear Hubby and I absolutely loved it...definitely restaurant quality! I have plans on making this the next time we have a soup bar with guests! The kids loved the flavor and did not balk at the spice! The only changes I made were: used two lemongrass (all I had), used shitaki mushrooms instead of the white, and breast meat instead of thighs as did not have any. Next time I will use the thigh meat. I would like to try shrimp as an alternative to chicken for a change of pace as well. The spiciness of this soup was good for us as a family. May add a bit more curry paste if serving for only grown-ups! We chose to add a spoonful of cooked jasmine rice to the soup and it was a nice filling meal served with homemade multigrain rolls. Thank you Chef John for another wonderful recipe to go in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States