Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was ok but I have never had Thai soup before so that might tarnish my review. This tasted kinda like Hot and Sour soup. I could not find lemongrass without driving half and hour but my son had some dried so I used that and a little lemon zest. The red curry paste was not hot at all I probably used 4 heaping tsp. PLUS I added in 2 sliced jalapenos BUT we live in Texas so we are on a different hot scale than a lot of the country. I might make this again but after I go have it in a Thai restaurant for comparison. Seems like it would be good if you are sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is the Bomb! Add just a bit of Kefir lime leaves to make it perfect! (A teaspoon of brown sugar gives it a bit if a sweet edge too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Perfect flavors, just the right amount of heat that keeps you coming back! I love the way you teach and explain. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe! I followed Chef John's steps and recommendations, and this turned out so delicious! We did up the amount of red curry paste, as we like things spicy, but that was the only difference. I had never made Thai food before, but this was so simple and satisfying that I may have found a new avenue to explore. We have been on a real soup kick, and this will be added to the regular rotation. Awesome! Thank you, Chef John, for yet another easy and delicious recipe! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Perfect flavors!! I purchased the curry paste, coconut milt and fish sauce from my local thai market. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass, so I used the lemon grass in the tube in the produce department, a little over a tablespoon. Delicious =) Thank you chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good stuff. To pack the spice you need to add it though, jalepenos & some Siracha will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Liza Michaela Dorfman
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This tunred out amazing and easy. My boyfriend and I used 1.5 lbs of chicken and a pound of small raw shelled shrimp. I added the shrimp in with around 5 minutes left on step 5. Cooked to perfection. My boyfriend said the leftovers are even better than the original. Just a plainly delicious, restaurant style soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
SoupClub217 used this recipe this week and absolutely loved it!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Like all the other reviewers, I thought this soup was excellent! A number of people mentioned that the Thai Red Curry Paste did not add enough heat. I think this is because most folks use the overpriced Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste found in most grocery stores. Big mistake!! Go to Amazon.com and search for Mae Ploy Thai Red Curry Paste. (Be sure to read the reviews.) Much better value for your money and MUCH better quality, with complex and authentic Thai seasoning. Trust me, you will not complain about the soup not being spicy enough. If you do much Thai cooking, this is the item to have on hand, as well as other types of of Thai pastes. (I assume these are also available in specialty food markets, Whole Foods, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Extremely happy with this recipe! Had to sub out or omit several ingredients, and it was still excellent! (My changes: no oil, mushrooms, fish sauce, or onions, and subbing out the curry paste for curry powder and dried chilies. Also, used dry instead of fresh ginger and cilantro. And no garnishes.) Still, it's a favorite! I served it over rice, which was a very good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States