Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
amazing!It is an almost exact match to my fave thai soup-tom kha pak I substiti uted shrimp and removed them as soon as they were cooked so as to prevent them from becoming rubbery/overcooked.used only 2 tbsp fish sauce and 2cans of light cocnut milk when I added the onion I also added some red and yellow diced peppers and a pinch of red pepper flakes and a tbsp of brown sugar. adding a cup of diced pineapple really makes this soup more awesome! next time i will probably add some slivered carrots when i saute the mushrooms for more veggie oomph :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
What a lovely soup. So many flavors! Based on another review and after tasting the Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste (no heat at all) I doubled the amount and added a healthy four teaspoons and it added a nice warmth. I also used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeno as that's what was in the fridge. I'm looking forward to having the remainder of this over brown rice tonight. I'll most certainly be making this soup again. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I used chicken breasts and 1 teaspoon of red curry. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
yummy!!! I added some red quinoa and it is soo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe was delicious. There is something missing from the recipe, in step #5 it says to add the lime juice, but nowhere in the ingredients is lime juice listed other then the limes for garnishment. I used 2 tablespoons because I found another thai recipe similiar to this one and that's what it called for. Other then that, I followed this recipe to a T, and it was wonderful. Although, next time I would like a little more heat and will use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos. Also, this is a light soup recipe, and if your looking to make it more hearty try using basmati rice or glass noodle with it. They are both great. Thanks for sharing, will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Really good! I poached this chicken in the broth but did everything else as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made it with my homemade chicken stock. This is good. I will add more of the curry paste next time to give it more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow! Packs a tasty punch. Made exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laponzio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I found the lemon grass in one of those tube things along with alot more I love Thai soup the hotter the better and you hit it right on the head I now have a favorite Thai soup and that would be yours I have made it with chicken and shrimp both where awesome and I agree with Chef John the spicier the better I made my hubbys alot less spicy he can't handle it keep up the good work :')
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is totally awesome!!!!! I think my jar of curry paste was pretty weak, because I added ALOT more. I also added just a touch of turmeric and cinnamon. My family loves this!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Hager City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States