Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Made this vegetarian using Extra firm tofu. I have not concocted a veggie fish sauce. So, I had to go with just soy sauce. It changes the recipe I know. But we really liked it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great, but WAY too much fish sauce! I thought 3 tablespoons seemed like a lot, but wanted to follow the recipe to a T. Yeah... it's too much. Your hands and breath will smell like you've been eating... not coconut soup. Next time, I'll only do 1.5 tablespoons. But don't get me wrong, fish sauce is ESSENTIAL to a coconut soup, as is lemongrass. Another reviewer said this was bland, but they must have skipped some ingredients, because with fresh lemongrass and fish sauce, there's no way it would be bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious I thought I had to be from Thailand in order to make a soup this good. I did not want to eat raw Jalapeno so I added a couple slices to the broth mixture step number and it gave it an extra flavor kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe was alright but really needed some help in my opinion. I thought it was a bit bland. I would at least double the fish sauce and add another teaspoon of the curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I absolutely love this soup. I've made it twice and there was never a drop left. Served it over some rice noodles. I also found a Swanson's Thai ginger broth at the store that cut down on the prep and the ingredients and still tasted fresh and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casNrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is really yummy! Next time I would add some potatoes, rice or noodles though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just made this and it was outstanding!! I would be excited to have this soup served to me in a restaurant. The house smelled so wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I had some problems with the recipe. First, despite using less chicken than recommended, I ended up needing to add extra broth as there wasn't enough liquid. Second, even with the extra broth, it was almost impossible to skim the top of fat, as my spoon kept running into chicken pieces and vegetables. Third, I really think the chicken should be more seasoned on its own, either with some kind of marinade or rub or at least in the skillet with salt and pepper. Finally, I wonder if maybe the garlic, lemongrass, and ginger should stay in the soup rather than being discarded. The soup I ended up with was very bland, other than the jalapeno slices, and they were just random heat since they were put in at the end as garnish. I will admit I did not use the cilantro as I strongly dislike it. This is the second "spicy" "Thai" soup I've made from Allrecipes that has been bland. I have a few others to try, but I'm thinking I might have to make up my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Absolutely unbelievable. No changes needed, this is perfect... I did 2 tablespoons of the curry paste the first time and wanted more heat so this time I did 4 tablespoons and for me it still wasn't too much. Amazing soup!! On a Paleo diet and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good, everyone loved it. I used lemon zest because I couldn't find lemon grass. I could have used more curry paste, but I didn't add the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States