Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Maryam Dadabhoy
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This soup is amazing! I made it about 5 times in 4 weeks and everyone was raving about it. I tweaked the recipe each time and this is my recommendations: 1. use 1 can of coconut milk, not 2. Using 2 totally dilutes the flavors. 2. I add 2 kafir lime leaves, for an authentic Thai flavor. 3. Instead of straining the broth, I use a large infuser ball and keep the garlic, ginger, lime leaves and lemon grass inside,and keep it in the finished soup product so the soup gets as much kick as possible. 4. For a one pot cooking method, I sautee mushrooms in the oil, add fish sauce, and then add the broth/infuser ball (with garlic, ginger, lemon grass and lime leaves). After adding the broth, I added an entire boneless chicken leg/thigh and let it cook in the broth. After chicken is cooked, I removed it, shredded it and added it back to the pot. Then I added 1 can of coconut milk, curry paste, lime juice. Finish by garnishing with red onions, cilantro, jalapeno slices and lime wedge garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam Dadabhoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Sooooooo delicious!!! I was a bit scared after I added the 2 cans of coconut milk because it smelled really coconuty so I added another 2 tsps of the curry paste and it was great. Another reviewer suggested the same thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nav Dulai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
The soup was very bland when I was finished with it (and I added a chopped jalapeno). I added more red thai paste, also added back in the "strained off" garlic, lemongrass and ginger" (I minced mine very fine) ... now we're getting somewhere. I also added some rice. After all the tweaks it tasted pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was ok but I have never had Thai soup before so that might tarnish my review. This tasted kinda like Hot and Sour soup. I could not find lemongrass without driving half and hour but my son had some dried so I used that and a little lemon zest. The red curry paste was not hot at all I probably used 4 heaping tsp. PLUS I added in 2 sliced jalapenos BUT we live in Texas so we are on a different hot scale than a lot of the country. I might make this again but after I go have it in a Thai restaurant for comparison. Seems like it would be good if you are sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is the Bomb! Add just a bit of Kefir lime leaves to make it perfect! (A teaspoon of brown sugar gives it a bit if a sweet edge too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Perfect flavors, just the right amount of heat that keeps you coming back! I love the way you teach and explain. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe! I followed Chef John's steps and recommendations, and this turned out so delicious! We did up the amount of red curry paste, as we like things spicy, but that was the only difference. I had never made Thai food before, but this was so simple and satisfying that I may have found a new avenue to explore. We have been on a real soup kick, and this will be added to the regular rotation. Awesome! Thank you, Chef John, for yet another easy and delicious recipe! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Perfect flavors!! I purchased the curry paste, coconut milt and fish sauce from my local thai market. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass, so I used the lemon grass in the tube in the produce department, a little over a tablespoon. Delicious =) Thank you chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good stuff. To pack the spice you need to add it though, jalepenos & some Siracha will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Liza Michaela Dorfman
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This tunred out amazing and easy. My boyfriend and I used 1.5 lbs of chicken and a pound of small raw shelled shrimp. I added the shrimp in with around 5 minutes left on step 5. Cooked to perfection. My boyfriend said the leftovers are even better than the original. Just a plainly delicious, restaurant style soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States