Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love this recipe!! I spice it up a little extra by adding three times the thai curry paste, some red chili sauce and adding some soy sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Lovely base soup i would make a few changes. I poached the chicken in the broth . Only added 1 can of coconut milk or it would have been very bland. I would add 4 tbs of curry paste next time and more lime juice and keep with the 3 tbs of fish sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
EXCELLENT! Tastes exactly like Tom Kha Gai soup that I've had at our Thai restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
great recipe, made it yesterday on a whim. super easy to follow. like many other reviews, i would also suggest watching the video. the fish sauce was a bit too strong for our liking, i would try halfing the amount and just seasoning with salt to taste. i will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I am new to Thai foods and flavors, and this was a perfect way to explore some of these tastes and ingredients. I could not find lemongrass, so I used the zest of one lemon. I also doubled the amount of red curry paste as others suggested. I used Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste which was not spicy at all as the video suggested. I wonder if he meant "Red Chili Paste"? This was really delicious and full of flavor. I am not an experienced cook, but even I was able to make this. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
So tasty!!! I used chicken stock instead of broth, added a little salt, doubled the red curry paste, minced the garlic and left it in the stock. I placed the lemongrass and ginger in a colander, boiled them in the chicken stock, and removed the colander after 30 minutes. I also used 3 lbs of chicken thighs and had plenty of broth for each serving. I love, love, love the flavor!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantee Darensburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing!Perfect balance of flavors. The only thing I have to mention, which I read in other reviews is ...the curry paste isn't very spicy. I added about 2 to 3 times what the recipe called for. Other than that, a keeper! Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Fairly bland. I did not cover the pot while simmering the broth with the aromatics and I would recommend doing as so I did not end up with much broth left to mix with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryam Dadabhoy
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This soup is amazing! I made it about 5 times in 4 weeks and everyone was raving about it. I tweaked the recipe each time and this is my recommendations: 1. use 1 can of coconut milk, not 2. Using 2 totally dilutes the flavors. 2. I add 2 kafir lime leaves, for an authentic Thai flavor. 3. Instead of straining the broth, I use a large infuser ball and keep the garlic, ginger, lime leaves and lemon grass inside,and keep it in the finished soup product so the soup gets as much kick as possible. 4. For a one pot cooking method, I sautee mushrooms in the oil, add fish sauce, and then add the broth/infuser ball (with garlic, ginger, lemon grass and lime leaves). After adding the broth, I added an entire boneless chicken leg/thigh and let it cook in the broth. After chicken is cooked, I removed it, shredded it and added it back to the pot. Then I added 1 can of coconut milk, curry paste, lime juice. Finish by garnishing with red onions, cilantro, jalapeno slices and lime wedge garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam Dadabhoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States