Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is fantastic and very easy to make. I recommend using tom yum paste for the red curry paste. Getting authentic ingredients will make or break this soup, and taking the time to go to an Asian market is always worth it. I have the feeling the people who thought this was bland probably didn't do that. This soup tastes exactly like the spicy coconut soup at my favorite Thai restaurant, and I'm very glad I can make it at home now. If you want to make the recipe even easier, substitute silken tofu for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
So delicious - flavorful yet light. I made a few small adjustments. Salted the chicken as it cooked, and added lemon pepper. My grocery store didn't have curry paste so I used red curry sauce (about a 1/2 cup). Other than that followed recipe to a T. The garnish is a must, it really brightened the dish. Husband loved it; will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love this recipe!! I spice it up a little extra by adding three times the thai curry paste, some red chili sauce and adding some soy sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Lovely base soup i would make a few changes. I poached the chicken in the broth . Only added 1 can of coconut milk or it would have been very bland. I would add 4 tbs of curry paste next time and more lime juice and keep with the 3 tbs of fish sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
EXCELLENT! Tastes exactly like Tom Kha Gai soup that I've had at our Thai restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
great recipe, made it yesterday on a whim. super easy to follow. like many other reviews, i would also suggest watching the video. the fish sauce was a bit too strong for our liking, i would try halfing the amount and just seasoning with salt to taste. i will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I am new to Thai foods and flavors, and this was a perfect way to explore some of these tastes and ingredients. I could not find lemongrass, so I used the zest of one lemon. I also doubled the amount of red curry paste as others suggested. I used Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste which was not spicy at all as the video suggested. I wonder if he meant "Red Chili Paste"? This was really delicious and full of flavor. I am not an experienced cook, but even I was able to make this. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
So tasty!!! I used chicken stock instead of broth, added a little salt, doubled the red curry paste, minced the garlic and left it in the stock. I placed the lemongrass and ginger in a colander, boiled them in the chicken stock, and removed the colander after 30 minutes. I also used 3 lbs of chicken thighs and had plenty of broth for each serving. I love, love, love the flavor!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantee Darensburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing!Perfect balance of flavors. The only thing I have to mention, which I read in other reviews is ...the curry paste isn't very spicy. I added about 2 to 3 times what the recipe called for. Other than that, a keeper! Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States