Spicy Chicken Thai Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made it. Terrible. Spicy chicken broth is all it was. Waste of time and money
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
5 stars with my changes. I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I just added a little marjoram, rosemary, and parsley. I will definitely cut back on the cayenne next time - maybe even in half. It was hot! I didn't even add the red chili pepper. The big change that made the recipe, I think, was that I added 1 Cup half & half to cut the heat and keep the flavor of the cayenne. I know that sounds like a lot, but it only adds 50 calories to each serving and makes it absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again - the husband loved it! Oh, and instead of using the crock pot, I just sauted the veggies, threw them in the broth and spices, then added the pan fried chicken, half and half, and I used rice instead of noodles. Took maybe 45 - 1 hr to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Not bad and rather spicy. However, I don't think you need to cook this for quite so long nor do you need a slow cooker for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
It was a little spicy for my family, but it did have a great overall flavor. I will make this again, however next time I'll cut down a lot on the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
It is spicy, but that is they way it was presented, and I did not have a red chili pepper so I used a green jalepeno. I added 1 stem of lemon grass, macerated , and I used chicken thighs, other than that the recipe was as given. I tasted it, it was good, and then a lightbulb went off, add fresh cilantro as a garnish/finishing touch. Made all the difference in the world. Will make again. Maybe cut back a little on the hot spices. Definitely add the cilantro again. Good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A very nice spicy soup. We made this soup when we were sick with a cold and it hit the spot. We didn't have poultry seasoning or white wine, but it still turned out well with just adding extra chicken broth. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this and I understand what people were saying now about the flavor being a little off. In theory the soup was good, but with the weird flavor going on, it sort of negated all the goodness. I tried to analyze what about it made it that way, and I decided if I make this again, I would omit the poultry seasoning and the sage. Also, my chicken got a little overcooked. I cut the cayenne down to 1/4 of a teaspoon and it was the perfect amount of spice - not overpowering, but still a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
A good soup and fairly easy to prepare,but plan ahead because it does require a variety of ingredients and has a lengthy cooking time. "Spicy" is the recipe's first name so you should not be surprised that it is. The combo of flavors makes it unique (if not a bit confusing). It hinted at more of a spicy Italian flavor to me, so I added a teaspoon of sesame oil toward the end of cooking to give it more of an Asian taste. I enjoyed this soup and will likely make it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLE01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Rob, thank you for your excellent submission. Based on the reviews, I altered this recipe quite a bit, and it was probably one of the best soups I have ever made, no doubt. I started by making this on the stovetop. I sauteed the veggies in veg oil, then added the curry powder. I added 64 oz reduced sodium broth, and then added the other spices. No poultry sesoning, so in it's place I just added a pinch of rosemary and marjoram. I did add the full amount of cayene, but did not add the pepper. I used prepared chicken breast chunks, only about 6 oz, let simmer for about 3 hours on low, and then added about 8 oz thin thai rice noodles. Simmered for about 10 minutes to let the noodles cook. It was perfectly spicy this way. The combination of the curry and sage is fantastic. Thank you for a great base to a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States