Spicy Chicken Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I'm usually not so adventurous to try a recipe that only has four previous reviews, but this one caught my attention and just sounded intriguing. It also had all the ingredients we love. Anyway, as you can tell by my 5 rating, we loved it!!! I have only made this once, but am planning on making it again this week. It was super easy to put together because most of the ingredients are from a can, which I was a bit skeptical about. However, this recipe tasted anything but like it was from a can! Like another review, I too used the diced green chilies instead of the jalapenos. It had the perfect amount of spice to sweetness. It is super chunky and I had my doubts about a couple of my kids eating it when I added the corn, but they all raved about it and have requested it several times since. I tasted it when I was simmering and immediately fell in love! Of course, upon seeing my reaction each of the kids wanted a preview taste too and then no one could wait for the noodles to finish cooking so we could eat! This is definitely a keeper and will be added to our family recipe box for good! I would have given this a 5+ if that was an option!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This recipe is pretty near perfect! I did modify it based on what I had on had and our personal tastes. And it still turned out great! I used a canned chicken breast from Costco (12.5 oz.) instead of the tenderloins, spaghetti sauce with meat, Red Gold canned tomatoes with green chiles, no jalapenos, no olives (yuck), no onion powder, using a leftover half cup of chopped onions instead. I had about half can of black beans leftover, so I threw those in. And I used regular thin spaghetti, as I didn't have any angelhair. It was a quick and easy recipe to make, and my picky eater even liked it! Had just the right amount of spicyness for the kids. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Delicious, hearty and definitely a keeper. I did make a few changes - sauteed and onion and a big clove of garlic instead of using onion and garlic powders. Also subbed leftover roasted chicken breast for the chicken tenders - green chilies and some crushed red pepper flakes for the jalepenos (daughter is allergic) and omitted the olives. We really liked the corn. Lovcd finding a recipe that I can just throw together on a busy night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was a very nice change from regular spaghetti. I do think it needs more chicken if you plan on serving 8 but other than that I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I'm torn between 3 and 4 stars for this dish. I left out the black olives (don't care for them) and used 3 large chicken breasts rather than tenderloins but I don't think those changes affected the end result. The dish tasted fine and there's nothing wrong with the recipe itself, but I guess we just prefer a more traditional spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this recipe for something different than plain ole spaghetti. I used diced green peppers instead of the jalepenos and 3 chicken breasts I cut into strips and seasoned with garlic salt. I also didn't have any diced tomatoes, so I diced 3 small tomatoes and used a small can of tomatoe sauce in place of that. Used frozen corn instead of a can of corn. As I do with my regular spaghetti sauce I always add a little bit of baking soda to cut the acidity and a teaspoon or two of sugar. Its cooking now, and I anticipate it to be very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this recipe. It was quick, it was easy, and a family pleaser. I used diced green chiles in place of jalapenos, used a deboned roasted chicken, and skipped the black olives. Next time I'll add them, they would've been good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Not impressed. Missng something. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very different from the typical spaghetti i make but i really liked this one. The corn gives it a really nice texture. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I added 1lb of cut up chicken breast and 1 can of chicken to make the sauce extra hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States