Spicy Chicken in Tomato-Coconut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was a good start. With some changes it was very good. Used 3 fresh medium tomatoes instead of canned tomato and paste. For spices changed it to: 2 tbsp garam masala, 2 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp ginger, 1 tbsp onion powder, 1 tbsp yellow curry powder, 1/2 tbsp salt, ~1 tsp cracked pepper, 1 tbsp Essence of Emeril (for heat since the wife doesn't like things too spicy). I used chicken tenders and seared them after coating them in garam masala. Took them out after the sear, diced them and added them back near the end. Added juice and zest of 2 limes and a handful of cilantro at the end. I added cayenne pepper to my plate while my wife took hers with a little yougurt since she hates spicy food. For the rice I toasted the rice first with onion, garlic and ginger, then added about 4c of water for 1.5c of rice. Made it have more of a pilaf texture. Added juice of a lime, cilantro, and frozen peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe closely (although did add some seeds from the jalapenos). The end result: way way too spicy, and I am pretty sure it was the cayenne pepper that 'killed' it (not the extra few seeds). Otherwise a tasty dish - my husband liked it alot. If I try it again, I will be sure to reduce the spices to 1/2 and then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Only 3 just because it was toooooo spicy for me. Flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was good. I added a little sugar (about 2 Tablespoons). I did not add the cayenne as my husband does not like heat. This was not too spicy for him and he is a self proclaimed wuss. It makes a TON of sauce and will make another meal with more chicken and the same sauce. Frozen peas and cilantro would be yummy. I love the consistency of the sauce. I made rice in the rice cooker with sauteed onions and turmeric-so pretty. 3 or more stars=will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
It tasted fine but something was missing. My husband liked it, so if I make it again I would use sweetened coconut milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
2tb cayenne pepper made this WAY too hot. Would have tasted great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great recipe but I can't imagine how hot it would be with 2 tablespoons of cayenne!!! I used 1 teaspoon and it was pretty spicy. I added 1 tablespoon of sugar because some of the other reviews suggested it and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melislynndemarc
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this recipe, however I do make a few adjustments....first I replace the chicken legs with breast. Instead of using 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper, I use only one (I found 2 tablespoons to be Very spicy). I then add about a teaspoon of red curry and garnish with fresh cilantro. Sour cream is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I used coconut cream instead of coconut milk, added extra spices including curry but had no bullion cubes on hand. After browning the chicken legs, I cut the legs up then added them to cook, letting it thicken up. Skipped all the really hot spices so the kids would eat it. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States