Spicy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Best served with basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
Wow talk about a delicious, fun fast recipe. I made it for people who were skeptical of Indian food, and they LOVED it. It will definitley go into my permanent recipe drawer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
Extremely good, and very authentic tasting. I used jalepenos instead of Indian chilis, however, and that proved to be a rather bad decision: it was brutally hot, but tasty nonetheless. I look forward to following the recipe a bit more closely in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was an excellent recipe!! Once you have the ingredients ( I had to hunt for the garem masala and ginger-garlic paste) the cooking is remarkably quick and easy for such a tasty dish. I've never had Indian cuisine and was curious about it , now I'm glad I tried it out. I'm eager for more recipes and hope they are as tasty as this one. I used a can of mild green chiles from the mexican section of our supermarket and omitted the poppy seeds. Once again, this dish is awesome. It's just spicy enough without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This was my first attempt at a curry dish, but it was incredibly easy and didn't take as long to prepare as I thought it would (I should have prepared the dough for the naan way in advance!). I couldn't find the garam masala or the ginger garlic paste, so I used curry powder and made a paste using ginger powder, garlic powder and a little bit of olive oil. I worked out really well, although I will still try to find the more authentic ingredients. I served this for guests with basmati rice and naan. Excellent, excellent meal that received great reviews. Thanks so much for submitting the recipe. Do you have any recipes that are strictly vegetable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong...but between the ingredients saying poppyseeds and the recipe saying poppyseed paste...and saying cook until 'well boiled'?! This wasn't spicy and my husband said, "Don't bother making this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I really didn't like this dish at all. My husband didn't mind it, but he didn't rave like he usually does when I try something new. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! My family and I tend to like very spicy food...I add triple the chili powder, twice the garlic, twice the garam masala (available from the grocery) and one half the chili's to the recipe. I have had RAVE reviews when I made it served over rice --in fact, when I made it for a person from India, he said it was just "like home". For ginger garlic paste, I just mix ginger powder with the pressed garlic prior to adding it to the curry mix. This is also terrific heated up the next day for a little less spicy taste. Weloved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This dish was tasty and easy to make. I expected the sauce to be thicker, and would enjoy it more if it was. I used everything in the recipe but the poppyseeds. I used canned green chiles, which worked well. Next time I will make it a little spicier, and hopefully I can find a way to make it thicker. I served it over basmati rice. All in all, this dish was good, I will definately make it again. The recipe given is good, but I think once you make it and figure out how to customize it to your preferences, it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I made this for friends for dinner one night. We thought the flavor was great. I would have liked it spicier but it was fine for my friends who don't care for spicy foods as much as I do. I did omit the poppy seeds because I didn not have them at home. I served the curry along with the Indian Spiced Basmati Rice recipe from this site. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States