Spicy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is good. I would recommend that you do not add water, but maybe use chicken broth and only half a cup and let the chicken cook in its own juice at low heat because it has a tendency to become watery. I used chicken legs instead of chicken breast. I had Achar Massala in the house so I used that. I served it on basamati rice. Expect some members of your family to let you know that the spice while cooking was burning their eyes. I did not use poppy seeds. I used curry powder instead. I will try and use chicken breast next time also. It does need something else in there to make it more tasty, but it is still a very authentic indian curry taste. It was spicy, but it was not burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It was spicy, but sauce was too watery. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good. But, because I was only cooking for myself, I only used 2 peppers, and 2 tbsps of oil. I should also have cut the water in half. It ended up a little watery. Also, how does one properly turn poppyseeds into a paste? I had a very tough time with that. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I had to make some substitutions, but I was amazed how good this was! I only had 1/2 white onion and a whole purple onion and only 1 fresh green chilie pepper - so I added a can of diced green chilies as well. I also had to mix up some ginger powder and minced garlic to get the ginger garlic paste. Also to make a good curry without curry! Who knew? I also thought only 1 lb of chicken wasn't going to be enough - but it really is. I served it over white rice, which was great and I think it will be great and even more filling over brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I used one pepper less than the recipe called for and it was too hot. Unless you can handle such heat I would suggest cutting down on the peppers. Otherwise, this dish was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This definitely calls for too much onion! Next time I will cut the amount in half. It also seemed that the recipe was missing something. Slightly disappointing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Used 4 chicken legs instead of breast so cooking time varied , another 15-20 mints of cooking at low. scaled servings to 2, And found that the ingredients are low on spice(we prefer bit spicy and hot), so added 1 jalapeno pepper and more garlic , ginger and red pepper powder. Poppy seeds can not be made into paste as the quantity is much less , I would suggest making it paste with some cashews and increase the quantity to help rotate the grinder add 3-4 tbs of water also, thats the best way to do it . Refrigerate the leftover paste for any other gravy (stays fresh for 2-3 days), Its goes well with Mango Lassi as desert . Best made it with Canola oil , it will still be flavorful.lastly serve with chopped fresh corriander and onion slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I usually make my curries with curry paste and coconut milk so this was a bit of a change for me. I reduced the chillies down to 2 because of my spice sensitive hubby, I couldn't get ginger garlic paste so I minced some garlic and stirred some ginger powder in. The sauce was a little thinner than what I'm used to but was very good. My daughter and I lapped it up but even with reduced chillies hubby struggled a bit. I served over plain rice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was very interesting! I am unfamiliar w/ Indian cuisine so I didn't deviate from the recipe much. I did use curry powder instead of turmeric but that's the only change I made. I will say that it is next to impossible to make a paste out of poppy seeds. Even w/ my mortar & pestle & w/ the addition of a bit of oil, I couldn't get it to "paste" up. This dish was flavorful but it had too much oil, I think. I never like to see oil slicks on top of my food so next time I will decrease the oil a bit. I went all out on my Indian theme & served this w/Indonesian Spiced Rice, naan & kheer, for dessert. I served gewurztarminer w/ the meal also. It's a white wine that pairs well w/ spicy foods...it really complemented the dish. I also toasted my cook-along friends w/ a Madras before I began cooking. Thanks for a fun recipe Sai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Not quite a 5 stars but a 4.5! We really enjoyed this authentic-tasting Indian dish, even if I didn't add all the "spicy" ingredients. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States