Spicy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is an excellent, easy to make chicken curry with great flavor, and better yet, it doesn't require the laundry list of ingredients that some other recipes do. For those experimenting with Indian cooking for the first time, I have a few tips and suggestions, as one who makes Indian food more often than not: First of all, the poppy seeds are used to achieve a slightly creamy texture. If you don't have them, use a little more than a tablespoon of unsalted cashews (or use salted and reduce the salt a little) and grind to a coarse powder. You'll get the same effect, and cashews are frequently used in Indian recipes, so the flavor will be great. Second, ginger garlic paste is a shortcut used in Indian cooking for peeling and chopping fresh garlic and ginger. It can be replaced by fresh grated, pressed, or chopped ginger and garlic in a 1:1 ratio for the same total volume. You're better off not using powdered spices here. Finally, you'll get the best flavor using fresh chilies, not canned. If you like a little less spice, use 1-2 jalapenos rather than 4 small hot chilies and reduce the chili powder. Garam masala is not the same as curry powder - it's a less pungent mixture including cloves, cinnamon, mace, pepper, and other spices. I try to avoid substituting the two, and find that garam masala has a milder, less overpowering flavor. It's worth the effort to find it, but you can make your own from commonly available spices. I hope this helps! Happy curry making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious - easy to make - going to try it with shrimp and some type of firm white fish. My boyfriend loves whenever I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was great. I used chicken stock instead of water and added frozen baby peas and a handful of golden raisins. I had fresh garlic, ginger and turmeric so used those for the paste and powder. Served with brown rice, and even some non curry lovers liked it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Best served with basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
Wow talk about a delicious, fun fast recipe. I made it for people who were skeptical of Indian food, and they LOVED it. It will definitley go into my permanent recipe drawer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
Extremely good, and very authentic tasting. I used jalepenos instead of Indian chilis, however, and that proved to be a rather bad decision: it was brutally hot, but tasty nonetheless. I look forward to following the recipe a bit more closely in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was an excellent recipe!! Once you have the ingredients ( I had to hunt for the garem masala and ginger-garlic paste) the cooking is remarkably quick and easy for such a tasty dish. I've never had Indian cuisine and was curious about it , now I'm glad I tried it out. I'm eager for more recipes and hope they are as tasty as this one. I used a can of mild green chiles from the mexican section of our supermarket and omitted the poppy seeds. Once again, this dish is awesome. It's just spicy enough without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This was my first attempt at a curry dish, but it was incredibly easy and didn't take as long to prepare as I thought it would (I should have prepared the dough for the naan way in advance!). I couldn't find the garam masala or the ginger garlic paste, so I used curry powder and made a paste using ginger powder, garlic powder and a little bit of olive oil. I worked out really well, although I will still try to find the more authentic ingredients. I served this for guests with basmati rice and naan. Excellent, excellent meal that received great reviews. Thanks so much for submitting the recipe. Do you have any recipes that are strictly vegetable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! My family and I tend to like very spicy food...I add triple the chili powder, twice the garlic, twice the garam masala (available from the grocery) and one half the chili's to the recipe. I have had RAVE reviews when I made it served over rice --in fact, when I made it for a person from India, he said it was just "like home". For ginger garlic paste, I just mix ginger powder with the pressed garlic prior to adding it to the curry mix. This is also terrific heated up the next day for a little less spicy taste. Weloved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I used one pepper less than the recipe called for and it was too hot. Unless you can handle such heat I would suggest cutting down on the peppers. Otherwise, this dish was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States