Spicy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I tried the idea of mashing up chopped ginger and garlic to substitute the ginger garlic paste, but my curry turned out really watery. Also, is it poppy seeds or poppy seed paste? Anyway, it had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorkingMom'sHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Keystone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Instead of chili peppers (as the kind Americans use are generally mild), I used canned jalapeno slices (chopped); and as I didn't have garlic-ginger paste, I mashed together a couple of garlic cloves and some chopped fresh ginger. The spiciness was perfect (the warm-your-throat kind, not the mouth-on-fire kind), but I thought there was something lacking in flavor. Were I to make this again, I would probably use more garlic, maybe 1/2 cup less water, and more garam masala. Also, I served this over coconut rice - an accompanyment I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Not as spicy as I expected ( I think I should have used fresh chiles, but still had good flavor. I added chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe at all. I followed the instructions to the letter. The resulting food was very bland. I separated some of it into portions and experimented separately, doing things like adding more spices (more chili powder, more GM, etc.), I even tried adding coconut milk, plain yogurt, tomatoes and their juice, etc.. ANYTHING.. For my taste, this recipe is not good as it stands and no matter how I fiddled with it, I could not get it to have a pleasing taste anything similar to the authentic indian food I eat everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I made this for friends for dinner one night. We thought the flavor was great. I would have liked it spicier but it was fine for my friends who don't care for spicy foods as much as I do. I did omit the poppy seeds because I didn not have them at home. I served the curry along with the Indian Spiced Basmati Rice recipe from this site. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This dish was tasty and easy to make. I expected the sauce to be thicker, and would enjoy it more if it was. I used everything in the recipe but the poppyseeds. I used canned green chiles, which worked well. Next time I will make it a little spicier, and hopefully I can find a way to make it thicker. I served it over basmati rice. All in all, this dish was good, I will definately make it again. The recipe given is good, but I think once you make it and figure out how to customize it to your preferences, it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! My family and I tend to like very spicy food...I add triple the chili powder, twice the garlic, twice the garam masala (available from the grocery) and one half the chili's to the recipe. I have had RAVE reviews when I made it served over rice --in fact, when I made it for a person from India, he said it was just "like home". For ginger garlic paste, I just mix ginger powder with the pressed garlic prior to adding it to the curry mix. This is also terrific heated up the next day for a little less spicy taste. Weloved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I really didn't like this dish at all. My husband didn't mind it, but he didn't rave like he usually does when I try something new. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong...but between the ingredients saying poppyseeds and the recipe saying poppyseed paste...and saying cook until 'well boiled'?! This wasn't spicy and my husband said, "Don't bother making this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This was my first attempt at a curry dish, but it was incredibly easy and didn't take as long to prepare as I thought it would (I should have prepared the dough for the naan way in advance!). I couldn't find the garam masala or the ginger garlic paste, so I used curry powder and made a paste using ginger powder, garlic powder and a little bit of olive oil. I worked out really well, although I will still try to find the more authentic ingredients. I served this for guests with basmati rice and naan. Excellent, excellent meal that received great reviews. Thanks so much for submitting the recipe. Do you have any recipes that are strictly vegetable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States