Spicy Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this tonight as I had been craving a creamy curry soup. I used red curry paste instead of the green, and added some Maifun Rice sticks. It was delicious. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Added a little bit more curry seasoning than stated but turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
good for a quick dinner, i gave it less stars due to the fact i modified it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great! I cooked up the chicken breast and shredded it instead of cubing, but that's more of a cosmetic change. Also shredded the carrot instead of dicing (apparently, I just don't like cubes). Spice was perfect, exactly the heat I'd expect from a thai curry soup. Served over rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was very excellent; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasunrisin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
We loved this, with a few additions. Doubled the recipe but did not double the coconut milk. Added extra garlic and yellow onion to start. Added red curry paste and curry powder to intensify flavor. Also, at the end I tossed in drained can of chopped tomatos, fresh spinach and fresh cilantro. Also, used thighs, not breasts. Served over a small mound of rice. PERFECT!!!!!!! Could not stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This soup was ok...but not memorable. The spiciness/pungency of the curry paste you use must vary significantly because 1 tbs did not make mine very flavorful or at all spicy. We were dumping red pepper and soy sauce in our bowls to give it more flavor. I used Thai Kitchen brand which i've enjoyed for other recipes...but if I make this again i'll have to add more than called for even though other reviewers said theirs turned out too spicy. You really have to season to taste with this one. I also added some celery, yellow onion and red bell pepper which was nice. I'll also add less stock so its thicker if there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I must have gotten the mildest jar of curry in the batch. I purchased a 4 oz bottle of Thai Kitchen Green Curry Paste and following directions, added 2 T. (I had doubled soup recipe because it sounded delish and got good reviews and I was really hungry!) Then I added another T. Then another! It didn't take long before I had emptied the jar into the soup and was barely aware of any spices. So either everyone in the world than me is a weenie or I got a particularly mild bottle. As for the soup, spicy or not, it was delicious. However, I review it delicately, because as someone pointed out, if you change the recipe radically, then you really can't comment on the original recipe. I forgot to pick up green onions, so I ended up using a roughly chopped white onion. And then I had some red and green peppers leftover in the fridge and knowing how pretty that would look, I roughly chopped the peppers and threw them in. (It did look pretty: the red and green of the peppers and the ornage of the carrots against the pale chartreuse of the soup.) Then, because I was still looking for bite, I started sprinkling in caynee, but I stopped rpetty quickly because it was changing the oclor of the soup. I will state that the soup was good, and then adding the fresh squeeze leime juice made it go: "POW!" Totally took it up 4 star. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very tasty with half of the chicken stock and slightly less than the recommended green curry paste. The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars was because I used a can of whole coconut milk and that made the dish VERY heavy. Be aware that this may be easier to digest with light coconut milk, but perhaps not as tasty. Very yummy otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I made this for my family today for supper. A few hours after eating, my husband asked for more. The soup is gone. I usually have leftovers which sit in my refrigerator for a few days, but this soup only lasted for a few hours. I only made a few changes. I didn't have onions so I added an extra clove of garlic. I also added cilantro, just because it adds to the appearance and flavor and used vegetable broth because I didn't have chicken broth. I also used leftover cubed chicken from the other day. I will definitely make this soup again. This has to be my favorite soup I've ever made. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States