Spicy Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was amazing. Instead of using it as a rub, I put the spices and chicken into a gallon sized zip-lock bag with olive oil as a marinade. If you like it spicy, this is the recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Used this recipe as the base for a chicken taco salad at a neighborhood Cinco de Mayo party. Quite good. Followed the recipe exactly but used smoked hungarian paprika as that's all I had on hand. Noted the thyme was overpowering - hence only 4 stars.... Using 1 tsbp of cayenne pepper would have been too much for "just chicken", but by utilizing it in a salad, the greens cut the spiciness. Perfect recipe to replace beef in a taco salad for those of us who are watching cholesterol!!! Thanks Barbara for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Wowza! I was sneezing throughout the entire mixing process. Take heed: this recipe makes a lot. Rub was good, but I feel the thyme overpowered the blend. (I’m not a big fan of the herb.) Next time I will decrease to ½ Tbs. and keep the rest of the ingredients the same. I love the fiery/hot taste mix gave my poultry. It was even good in my salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
WOWEE!! This is some SPICY chicken! The flavor was excellent (almost like blackened chicken), but since I'm sort of a wimp when it comes to hot foods I think I'll cut the cayenne pepper in half next time. Either that, or not use quite as much spice rub on the chicken breasts before I grill them (I really rubbed it on thick)! If you like hot and spicy foods though, you'll really love this... just make sure you have plenty of cold beer on hand to put out the fire! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I just made Spicy Chicken Breasts for dinner, and my husband and I loved them!! They were absolutely delicious! However, I took the advice from a few others, and used half the amount of cayenne pepper because I didn't want them to be too spicy. I also used bone-in chicken breasts and baked them in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes. They came out perfectly...the center was tender and moist, and the seasoning on the outside was just right!! Thanks Barbara, this is definitely a 5-Star recipe, and we'll for sure be using the left over rub...I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Using 1 TBSP "GROUND" cayenne was too spicy for my family. Tried only 1 tsp. and it was just a little "hot", but more to our taste. Good... but we liked the "Jenny's Grilled Chicken Breasts" from this site) better. Both recipes are exceptional with salad greens and your favorite dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I used all the ingredients, except the salt – there is enough sodium in the recipe already. I did not use a grill, as it was about 12 degrees outside and I didn’t feel like bundling up! I put some extra virgin olive oil in a pan, flash fried the chicken on High for 2 minutes on each side, while covered. Then I turned the heat down to medium-low and cooked both sides, checking the centers every couple minutes. I had a light Cesar Salad mix and some garlic bread to go with the chicken. Was a fantastic dinner, my husband loved it (he likes spicy food) and while I was worried it would be too spicy for me, the bread and salad really helped ‘cool’ it down and I had no trouble eating it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Sorry... I did not like this recipe at all. My husband, (who would rave about toast) said it was "ok". The seasoning was just not good, and brought no yummy flavor to the chicken. I even went with others recommendations and cut the cayenne in half. This is the first recipe from this site I have not given 5 stars to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
We're new to the dry rub scene... and boy, have we been missing out. This was fabulous! Just the right amount of heat (I only used 1/2T of the cayenne pepper, though). If you're looking for a way to spice up plain old chicken breasts, give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Awesome rub! We started using it on chicken for a little kick up a notch. Now we use it on steak, pork chops, and vegis. Even my oldest child likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plum, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States