Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this today and it is very good! I used canned sweet potatoes because I already had them and needed to use them. I just added them when I added the beans and corn. I also used chicken broth in place of the water. The flavors of this are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Fabulous! I did make a couple of changes: I omitted the red pepper flakes and in place of the cocoa powder, I substituted a lovely Zanzibar curry powder that I adore. I have to agree with some comments that while good when freshly made, letting the flavors meld overnight does magic. So easy and quick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe but made these modifications based on what I had: used 2 15 oz cans of diced tomatoes (one w/ zesty jalepenos), and didn't use cilantro because didn't have any. I substituted 2 c water with organic chicken stock. Also added 4 small jalepenos diced for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
FANTASTIC stew! A KEEPER! I used what I had: plum tomatoes that were getting soft, so used those w/ a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Also, had chicken thighs thawed, so browned them along w/ onion, pepper, garlic & spices b/f adding liquid (careful they don't burn!). The TASTE, AROMA & VISUAL APPEAL are great! I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe! Thanks RCKim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I skipped the chicken to make this a great vegetarian meal. Very filling, very good. My 5-year-old had 2 bowls. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! My most fav chili recipe now, thanks got sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I truly enjoyed this stew! It was easy to prepared, but I did add a pinch of sugar to cut some of the spice. I plan to add it to my next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bc&hood
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Best recipe, hands down, on this entire website!! SO delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was unbelievably good. On second look at this recipe, I see I missed the cocoa! Something to look forward to next time! The combination of spices is perfect. I used black beans instead of kidneys, I think they're a better option here. I made mine quite thick and served it over quinoa - a perfect earthy tasting compliment to this terrific recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Mmmmm so yummy. I was looking for something to do with a sweet potato and was delighted that I had all this stuff in my cupboard! I added Carrots and left out the corn and beans but otherwise followed it exactly. It was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States