Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was very good. My husband commented on how tasty it was. The only change I made was to substitute 1 cup of chicken stock for one of the cups of water in the recipe. Another commenter mentioned that the chicken got a bit lost in the recipe and I agree. Next time I make it, I will use 1.5 lbs. of chicken. This recipe would be good served over rice, which I will do when I heat up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted like a very healthy bowl of chicken chili. Very warming for cold days. I used one can of Rotel hot tomatoes n chillies, and it was very delicious. Great recipe for healthy eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKOB&ELAHNA_MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Instead of cubed chicken breast, I slow cooked pulled chicken in a mango salsa. It added another layer of flavor to this delicious stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pat Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe as a way to use up some Thanksgiving Turkey. I substituted turkey for the chicken, used chicken broth in place of water as suggested in the reviews, used black beans instead of kidney, and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes for extra spice. It turned out terrific! This just might become a tradition! It was so good, I'm going to try a vegetation option for our non meat friends. Thanks for the great recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good, but no one raved - only change was I swapped chicken broth for water as others suggested. Nice warm meal for a bowl in front of the television perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great flavor and easy to make. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times. My kids love it. The only thing I do different is that I always add Organic chicken Better than Bouillon with the water! I also serve it with fresh cornbread, butter and honey:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is a delicious dish! I didn't change a thing. I didn't have cooked chicken so I boiled skinless chicken thighs. After sauteing the onion and garlic, I just put everything right in the pot with the boiling chicken. It was fabulous! Such great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
The flavors in this stew are wonderful, rich and satisfying, and the ingredient list is super healthy, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My family loved this! I followed most of the recipe, but made a few changes. I used regular legs and thighs, as that's what I had, and used tomato sauce in lieu of diced tomatoes, same reason. I also left out red pepper flakes, orange bell pepper and beans because of preference. All the other spices I kept the same, and it was delish! Served up with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread. Will be making again this weekend for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States