Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
For CROCK POT: Saute onions, garlic & bell pepper in oil (+ add ~TBSP butter). After cooking ~5 minutes, stir in flour. Slowly add water while stirring till smooth. Transfer to crock pot. Add remaining ingredients. NOTE: I cut raw chicken breast into about three chunks each and added to crock pot (raw). Toward the end of cooking, I shredded the chicken with fork to make it more of a stew consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
We thought the stew was okay the first night. When we had leftovers for lunch the next day we were very happy to discover that it tasted much better. We will make it again and let it sit in the fridge overnight before eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Super tasty. My store didn't have any sweet potatoes, only yams. And no, they are not the same thing. I think yams, which I used, are better for this dish anyway because the yams really held their shape without becoming mushy even when they softened up. Having taste compared sweet potatoes and yams in the past, I think yams have more flavor and sweet potatoes only taste exactly as they sound - like sweetened potatoes. Also, I made a slurry with the flour before adding it to the pot. I put two tbsp of flour in a small container and slowly mixed in spoonfuls of the dish's liquid until it was just diluted past the gluey stage. No clumps of flour for me. Also, I did not drain the tomatoes and I found the end consistency to be perfect. And instead of water, I added 2 cups of leftover homemade chicken soup broth (sans vegetables and egg noodles). And finally, I didn't have any cocoa powder, so I gave it a healthy squirt of chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful easy and delicious recipe! The only small change I made was - instead of 2 cups of water, I used 2 cups of chicken broth. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was absolutely delicious, I did make a few changes I was in the mood for beef so i used beef stew meat and cooked it with the onion and garlic, then added the sweet potato, I also added regular potatoes and red pepper its what I had in the fridge and the rest of ingredients. I added some Red Cayenne pepper to add a little more heat and added a black lemon to add a little lemon flavor it was delicious, I think next time I make this I will through in some carrots I'm a big veggie lover, the making process was a bit tough but well worth, it I will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This stew has great flavor! I loved the corn and kidney beans. I added the cilantro and lime juice to my bowl and it rounded out the flavors. The recipe is a little labor intensive but well worth the effort, especially since it only takes 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Excellent Stew with a boat load of flavor. I added about a cup of mild salsa and a teaspoon of sugar to bring out the tomato flavor. The sweet potatoes are a nice touch, and the absorb the spices. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe is a fantastic twist on traditional chicken soup/stew with a mexican flare. The nutrients from the chicken, sweet potatoes, and tomatoes make it a great alternative to chicken noodle soup, especially during "cold/flu season". Instead of dissolving the flour in 2 Tbsp. water, I used 2 Tbsp. lime juice and served each bowl with a lime wedge. The lime juice creats a delicious contrast against the cilantro. Also, I suggest using at least 1 1/2 - 2 lbs. of chicken. 1 lb. of chicken seems to get lost in all the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
We were very happy with this stew. I used chicken broth instead of water, white kidney beans instead of red ones, and red bell peppers instead of orange. The lime juice rounds out the flavors nicely. The stew was a bit thin for my taste, so I let it simmer with lid off for another 20 min. I had so many sweet potatoes left over from thanksgiving, so this was a nice recipe to make use of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Interesting combination of flavors. Seemed like a lot of prep work though, so I'm not sure if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizrunner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States