Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I used fresh chicken and omitted the salt. In my mortar and pestle I added the spices along with ginger and a fresh chili, I then added it after the onion & garlic. Then added the chicken, cooked that for a few mins. Then added the rest via the recipe. I served it on a bed of jasmine rice. Certainly will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Very nice. I used leftover grilled chicken, and a little more sweet potato (actually yam) than the recipe called for, just because I didn't want to save a small portion of it. It had a very nice flavor, but it was a little harsh, so next time will add a little sugar to bring out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I found I did not need to add any thickener as the starch in the yams seems to have done the job. Thanks for another addition to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very good! I used leftover grilled chicken and I didn't have onion on hand but it was no problem. Served toasted pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This stew has a ton of flavour! The blend of spices is perfect. The only change I made was to reduce the salt by about half. I would strongly recommend you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this stew! I did make a few alterations per my family's preference. My alterations would be: no bell pepper (not a fan in stews), diced tomatoes with jalapeno peppers instead of regular, chicken stock instead of water, black beans instead of kidney and I leave off the red pepper flakes since tomatoes already give it a kick. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe was definitely a success. At first I was not sure how the sweet potatoes would be with everything else but they ended up going well with everything. I was out of cocoa powder and I skipped the kidney beans but even with that it was awesome. I took a risk and invited some people over for dinner and decided to make something I had never made before and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Probably the best stew or soup I have ever tasted and or made.. The meshing of all the different spices was just perfect. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! So full of flavor and the cilantro is the perfect finishing touch, wouldn't be as good without it. Made lots and it reheats beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadagoat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Cresson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
For CROCK POT: Saute onions, garlic & bell pepper in oil (+ add ~TBSP butter). After cooking ~5 minutes, stir in flour. Slowly add water while stirring till smooth. Transfer to crock pot. Add remaining ingredients. NOTE: I cut raw chicken breast into about three chunks each and added to crock pot (raw). Toward the end of cooking, I shredded the chicken with fork to make it more of a stew consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
shut up! This is soooo delicious. I think some brown rice would go down well and stretch it a bit further - you'll want to have a couple of helpings! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States