Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made this in the crock pot and added some garden jalapenos and chili peppers for more spice. My son that should eat better and hates sweet potatoes stopped by and tried a,"little". He ended up eating two full bowls. What he liked about the recipe I didn't...you can't really taste the sweet potatoes, they taste like a regular potato. So if you are someone trying to incorporate healthy sweet potatoes into you diet, this is a great place to start. Still a great tasting stew, just add more peppers if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious! I made some slight alterations due to what I had in my refrigerator/pantry. Since my chicken wasn't cooked, I diced it up and cooked it with my onions and garlic (and salt & pepper). I sauteed all the veggies - and included some carrots I had in the fridge before adding in everything else. I didn't have any diced tomatoes, so I substituted tomato paste and veggie broth. I also used a can of cream corn instead of frozen corn and added that right away as well. Since I let it simmer for a couple hours - I didn't need to thicken it with flour. Turned out to have really great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
A lot more satisfying then I expected. Love the smokiness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good, but not great. Maybe the cilantro would have made the difference, but I didn't have any on hand. It was a good recipe for tonight, since I had the rest of the ingredients, want hot soup, and something to get me in the mood for fall. I like the sweet potatoes and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used "Natural & Good4U"'s crock pot recipe for this and it turned out wonderful. Definitely good for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheJehosephat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was a really good recipe, made no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Very unusual flavors. It was just okay. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pablito
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It seems very tastefull, i will do it this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pablito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This soup is delicious!!! I had some leftover yams from the holidays and when I came along this soup with all the interesting spices, I had to try it. I'm so glad I did. Husband (who hates yams) rated it in my top 5 soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States