Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
The recipe is SO good. I like to try a new recipe as close to the original as possible to test it first before making changes. I only made two small changes...I used chicken stock instead of water, and I added mushrooms, only because they were in the fridge and needed to be used before they went bad. Both my husband and I loved this dish. Will make it again, and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I work night shift so when I got home I threw everything into my slow cooker without sauteing. It came out great! Served it over rice. My husband and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe, it was so good, I love anthing with sweet potatoes! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is really good. I used black beans instead of kidney beans and didn't use the cilantro - personal preference. I also used cubed raw chicken thighs which I sauteed with the onions. I think this would also be great with pork. Gets better every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made this in the crock pot and added some garden jalapenos and chili peppers for more spice. My son that should eat better and hates sweet potatoes stopped by and tried a,"little". He ended up eating two full bowls. What he liked about the recipe I didn't...you can't really taste the sweet potatoes, they taste like a regular potato. So if you are someone trying to incorporate healthy sweet potatoes into you diet, this is a great place to start. Still a great tasting stew, just add more peppers if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious! I made some slight alterations due to what I had in my refrigerator/pantry. Since my chicken wasn't cooked, I diced it up and cooked it with my onions and garlic (and salt & pepper). I sauteed all the veggies - and included some carrots I had in the fridge before adding in everything else. I didn't have any diced tomatoes, so I substituted tomato paste and veggie broth. I also used a can of cream corn instead of frozen corn and added that right away as well. Since I let it simmer for a couple hours - I didn't need to thicken it with flour. Turned out to have really great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
A lot more satisfying then I expected. Love the smokiness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good, but not great. Maybe the cilantro would have made the difference, but I didn't have any on hand. It was a good recipe for tonight, since I had the rest of the ingredients, want hot soup, and something to get me in the mood for fall. I like the sweet potatoes and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I used "Natural & Good4U"'s crock pot recipe for this and it turned out wonderful. Definitely good for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheJehosephat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was a really good recipe, made no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States