Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was pretty good. I had typed in to the ingredient search chicken, sweet potatoes and cilantro and this is what came up. I did use Swanson's chicken broth in place of the water,added a few shakes of Ancho Chile Powder and a generous squirt of lime juice to each serving. While I'm not big on sweet potatoes in general, I did enjoy this recipe. Very Tex-Mex tasting, hearty and flavorful, and for us, something new and interesting to do with leftover Rotisserie chicken. Served with cornbread and shredded Mexican blend cheese for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
In love with this recipe! Colorful and packed full of flavor. I can't wait to make it with venison as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Putnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a big hit - nice alternative to chili. Sweet potatoes were sliced pretty small, but still took longer than described to cook. Cilantro was added with a light hand, but everything else was pretty close to the recipe. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Easy Version! Saute onion and garlic, add chicken stock (instead of water) raw diced chicken (breast or thigh), spices, red or orange pepper and drained tomatoes. Cook 10 minutes. Add diced sweet potato. Cook 10 minutes. Add flour slurry, beans (I used black beans since that was what I had on hand)and corn (though I left that out). Heat to boiling. Top with cilantro, squeeze of lime and dollop of sour cream (important!). Absolutely wonderful and very easy! Also, I substituted 1/4 square of unsweetened bakers chocolate since I didn't have cocoa on hand. Very forgiving recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a very tasty stew! My whole family enjoyed it and asked for seconds. I did make a few alterations, I didn't use as much chili powder or red pepper flakes (I am the only one who enjoys spicey) and I used black beans instead of kidney. Also I only had 14 oz of diced tomatoes so I added a can of condensed orange tomato soup and 1 cup of mild salsa. Oh, and I used ground chicken but it still had great flavor and texture. We heated tortillas in a skillet and used them as a dipper...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made tacos out of this recipe. I just didn't add the water. I also threw the sweet potatoes in the pan first and cooked them down for about five minutes on med-high heat before adding the other veggies. once everything was cooked I put the spices in. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RucaBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did need to add more salt, used pinto beans, and added about a few fennel seeds. Used the pinto because that is what I had on hand, added the fennel because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Yummy as written...second time around I used chicken broth instead of water...used 1tbsp mild Chili powder and 1 tbsp curry powder...added diced celery and carrots. Also thickened it a bit more for my preference. Love it! Quick comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This stew is really yummy! I only made minimal changes. I used about half the amount of chili powder because that's all I had, and about half the cinnamon. Also I used yellow bell peppers instead of orange. The last thing I changed was that I didn't add the crushed red peppers. This stew was well received by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this today and it is very good! I used canned sweet potatoes because I already had them and needed to use them. I just added them when I added the beans and corn. I also used chicken broth in place of the water. The flavors of this are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States