Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
FANTASTIC stew! A KEEPER! I used what I had: plum tomatoes that were getting soft, so used those w/ a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Also, had chicken thighs thawed, so browned them along w/ onion, pepper, garlic & spices b/f adding liquid (careful they don't burn!). The TASTE, AROMA & VISUAL APPEAL are great! I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe! Thanks RCKim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I skipped the chicken to make this a great vegetarian meal. Very filling, very good. My 5-year-old had 2 bowls. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! My most fav chili recipe now, thanks got sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I truly enjoyed this stew! It was easy to prepared, but I did add a pinch of sugar to cut some of the spice. I plan to add it to my next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bc&hood
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Best recipe, hands down, on this entire website!! SO delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was unbelievably good. On second look at this recipe, I see I missed the cocoa! Something to look forward to next time! The combination of spices is perfect. I used black beans instead of kidneys, I think they're a better option here. I made mine quite thick and served it over quinoa - a perfect earthy tasting compliment to this terrific recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Mmmmm so yummy. I was looking for something to do with a sweet potato and was delighted that I had all this stuff in my cupboard! I added Carrots and left out the corn and beans but otherwise followed it exactly. It was really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really delicious and pretty quick to make. I used a whole chicken cut up, cooked it separately with just a little salt + pepper for about 6 min/side. Cut that up and tossed it in the remainder of the stew at the end. Worked beautifully. Hand-made tortillas were a nice pairing. Great flavors, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
A bit spicier than my kidlet was comfortable with, but an easy adjustment next time. The flavors were a unique and interesting change of pace. I liked it; I don't think it's something I could eat often, but would be a nice change of pace once in a while. NOTE: I also didn't need to use the flour - the soup came together by itself. And as we are vegetarian, I skipped the chicken. UPDATE: The leftovers sat in the fridge until they went bad... no one wanted this a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
The recipe is SO good. I like to try a new recipe as close to the original as possible to test it first before making changes. I only made two small changes...I used chicken stock instead of water, and I added mushrooms, only because they were in the fridge and needed to be used before they went bad. Both my husband and I loved this dish. Will make it again, and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States