Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This stew was fantastic! Inexpensive, easy to make, and very flavorful. I forgot to add the kidney beans, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
much to my surprised this all came together very well.. i was worried when i first started making it around midday b/c the broth didn't seem too flavorful to me.. i added the rest of the ingredients and had it that evening and wow super good.. only things i didn't add were the bell pepper, cocoa, and flour slurry.. also used chicken bouillon instead of just water.. me and bf nearly devoured this last night and i took the rest for lunch today.. cant wait to have it again.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
first time making it! Love the flavors! Followed the recipe minus the pepper because I didn't have one. Will keep this in the meal rotation for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic. Converted to slow cooker and doubled recipe. Used chicken thighs, cubed and slightly browned before putting in pot. Cut sweet potato in small chunks. Put everything in slow cooker, except chicken, cooked on high for total of 6 hours. Put chicken in about half way through. Didn't have any cinnamon so used 2 cinnamon sticks - fabulous aroma. Great melding of flavors. Will definitely make again. A real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
You've got to try this recipe, it's delicious! The blend of spices makes for a rich gravy which compliments the sweetness of the sweet potato. I used a can of Italian spiced tomatoes, added turnip, chickpeas and carrots instead of corn and kidney beans (didn't have any). A nice hearty meal on a cold snowy night! Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My husband LOVED this and he isn't even a huge fan of sweet potatoes. Delicious and so easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
DELICIOUS! my husband and I LOVED this recipe! I used the crock-pot for 3-hrs on high, I sauteed the onions, garlic and peppers and coated them with flour and water before I put it in the crock-pot with chicken(raw) and the other ingredients. I went light on the chili powder. I'm trying a bunch of new stews to add to my menu and this will definitely be a favorite! Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
YUM. I used heirloom tomatoes from my garden instead of canned ones. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
WoW a really great recipe very tasty in fact I would like to use beef with this Thanks for a great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States