Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I loved the flavors that the combination of spices created. It was superb. However, it was a tad too watery. The consistency was perfect until I added the flour dilluted with 2 tablespoons of water, it then became too watery. Next time I make this dish, I will add the flour directly into the pot without diluting it in water first or just use less water overall. Perhaps then this dish will be a five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This stew/soup was fantastic. My husband doesn't like sweet potatoes or vegetables for that matter and he ate TWO bowls of this. It was just delish. I didn't change one thing, but my husband said it would have been better without the chicken. I think even a bit of sausage instead of the chicken might have worked. with a dollup of sour cream on the top, this recipe is going to be a favorite that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was something else! I made it with Sweet Corn Bread (a recipe found here on allrecipes). Great reviews from the family. Serve with cheddar cheese on top or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I was surprised at how sweet the soup became from the potatoes. It was a bit too chunky for my tastes. The Italian seasoning was a little off in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
So Good! Slow Cooker this Bag Boy! Chop it all up, add it to the Slow Cooker. Cook for 8 hours on Low. Add Cilantro once it's done and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Mmmmmmm. This was fantastic! :) A great, unique twist on chili. I used black beans instead of kidney beans and a red pepper instead of a yellow (all I had!) but everything else followed the recipe exactly. I'm so glad I have leftovers! ETA: I just made this with sweet potatoes instead of yams and I think the yams are MUCH better in it. :) They do get mushier (is that word?) but they really kick the flavor up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was incredible! I did cut down on the spice a bit, but didn't seem to hurt it one bit. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe. I'm looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Omg. This is delicious. I did some things differently. I took user advice and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water and I used the low-sodium kind. I also used ground turkey instead of chicken because I just like ground turkey better. I increased the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. because I love spicy! And I left out the garlic (family allergies), cilantro (not a fan) and cocoa powder (didn't have). I also used a yellow bell pepper instead of orange and butternut squash instead of sweet potato bc it was peeled and cubed in the Evolution section. And I used canned corn (Del Monte is my favorite) instead of frozen and added it in when I added the other veggies. Sooo good! I will try sweet potato next time. I was just lazy. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Easily one of the best soups I've ever had! Everybody that I prepare it for absolutely loves it - and wants the recipe. I am not a pepper fan, so I omitted those and added a tablespoon of sugar and 1/4 cup salsa. Fantastic!! I also use almost double the amount of chicken stock, b/c I wanted more of a soup than a stew. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Incredible! Great eating at dinnertime and even better leftovers. I cheated and used canned sweet potatoes, subbed black beans for kidney, and pre-made mole sauce for the red pepper and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States