Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
So Good! Slow Cooker this Bag Boy! Chop it all up, add it to the Slow Cooker. Cook for 8 hours on Low. Add Cilantro once it's done and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Mmmmmmm. This was fantastic! :) A great, unique twist on chili. I used black beans instead of kidney beans and a red pepper instead of a yellow (all I had!) but everything else followed the recipe exactly. I'm so glad I have leftovers! ETA: I just made this with sweet potatoes instead of yams and I think the yams are MUCH better in it. :) They do get mushier (is that word?) but they really kick the flavor up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was incredible! I did cut down on the spice a bit, but didn't seem to hurt it one bit. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe. I'm looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Omg. This is delicious. I did some things differently. I took user advice and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water and I used the low-sodium kind. I also used ground turkey instead of chicken because I just like ground turkey better. I increased the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. because I love spicy! And I left out the garlic (family allergies), cilantro (not a fan) and cocoa powder (didn't have). I also used a yellow bell pepper instead of orange and butternut squash instead of sweet potato bc it was peeled and cubed in the Evolution section. And I used canned corn (Del Monte is my favorite) instead of frozen and added it in when I added the other veggies. Sooo good! I will try sweet potato next time. I was just lazy. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Easily one of the best soups I've ever had! Everybody that I prepare it for absolutely loves it - and wants the recipe. I am not a pepper fan, so I omitted those and added a tablespoon of sugar and 1/4 cup salsa. Fantastic!! I also use almost double the amount of chicken stock, b/c I wanted more of a soup than a stew. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Incredible! Great eating at dinnertime and even better leftovers. I cheated and used canned sweet potatoes, subbed black beans for kidney, and pre-made mole sauce for the red pepper and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We loved this stew. Great flavors and textures. Used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the red pepper for the kiddies. Even my three and a half year old liked it! Grade: A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was basically chili, only with sweet potatoes and more liquid. It tasted great, but I would just make chili next time instead of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, with unusual, but excellent seasonings! I had extra time, so I let mine cook about 50-60 minutes, and I really didn't need the flour/water to thicken it. I was shy on the chili powder, but this appealed to my family more. But, what an excellent soup/stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a delicious. I was looking for something other than the typical stew or chili and this went above and beyond. So many wonderful flavors that meld together. It's a winter staple now! I don't like bell peppers so I used a can of mild chiles. I also don't like corn in soups, so I broke up tortilla chips - the authentic kind so they don't turn to mush. Instead of cocoa I had chocolate sauce on hand and added a squirt of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States