Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was absolutely delicious, I did make a few changes I was in the mood for beef so i used beef stew meat and cooked it with the onion and garlic, then added the sweet potato, I also added regular potatoes and red pepper its what I had in the fridge and the rest of ingredients. I added some Red Cayenne pepper to add a little more heat and added a black lemon to add a little lemon flavor it was delicious, I think next time I make this I will through in some carrots I'm a big veggie lover, the making process was a bit tough but well worth, it I will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I made it exactly as specified except I omitted the orange pepper (my husband doesn't like peppers). I combined the flour and water before adding it to the pot. I used cocoa powder as called for, and added the fresh cilantro for the last 15 minutes before serving. We ate it with Italian bread and I added some grated parmesan to mine. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Super tasty. My store didn't have any sweet potatoes, only yams. And no, they are not the same thing. I think yams, which I used, are better for this dish anyway because the yams really held their shape without becoming mushy even when they softened up. Having taste compared sweet potatoes and yams in the past, I think yams have more flavor and sweet potatoes only taste exactly as they sound - like sweetened potatoes. Also, I made a slurry with the flour before adding it to the pot. I put two tbsp of flour in a small container and slowly mixed in spoonfuls of the dish's liquid until it was just diluted past the gluey stage. No clumps of flour for me. Also, I did not drain the tomatoes and I found the end consistency to be perfect. And instead of water, I added 2 cups of leftover homemade chicken soup broth (sans vegetables and egg noodles). And finally, I didn't have any cocoa powder, so I gave it a healthy squirt of chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The flavour of this dish was very nice, I loved the unusual blend of spices. I wanted to use this as a filling for burritoes, so I decreased the amount of liquid, using just two 10oz cans of Rotel tomatoes. After a little simmering, it thickened up nicely and made fantastic burritoes with some cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I was surprised at how good this stew tasted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I loved the flavors that the combination of spices created. It was superb. However, it was a tad too watery. The consistency was perfect until I added the flour dilluted with 2 tablespoons of water, it then became too watery. Next time I make this dish, I will add the flour directly into the pot without diluting it in water first or just use less water overall. Perhaps then this dish will be a five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This stew/soup was fantastic. My husband doesn't like sweet potatoes or vegetables for that matter and he ate TWO bowls of this. It was just delish. I didn't change one thing, but my husband said it would have been better without the chicken. I think even a bit of sausage instead of the chicken might have worked. with a dollup of sour cream on the top, this recipe is going to be a favorite that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was something else! I made it with Sweet Corn Bread (a recipe found here on allrecipes). Great reviews from the family. Serve with cheddar cheese on top or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I was surprised at how sweet the soup became from the potatoes. It was a bit too chunky for my tastes. The Italian seasoning was a little off in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States