Spicy Chicken and Spelt Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I have made this so many times and it is always a big hit. The only changes we make are barley for spelt, and tamarin for soy sauce. :D I have made this for several potlucks, served over lettuces leaves. Great fresh summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Delicious! I have been looking for a good spelt recipe for years, and now I have found it! I don't eat peanut butter, so I used tahini instead. This dish is perfect both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ingrid
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Kids loved it! Really flavorful and good texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Used Quinoa instead of spelt - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved it! A little too spicy for the kids but they don't eat anything but hot dogs anyway. I couldn't find spelt so I subbed out cooked quinoa instead. This also shortened the cooking time. I will make this again. It is a lot of chopping and not a fast meal, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this tonight and it was very good. Three out of four of us really enjoyed it, which is a close to a hit as anything other than ice cream gets in our house. I love getting a new way to use an unusual grain. Spelt is delicious and the nutty texture went well with the peanut sauce. I did think the final dish was a bit salty between the soy sauce and the salted spelt water so next time I will not salt the water and wait until the end to add any salt. I did not have any cabbage so I substituted in broccoli so the dish came out more stir fry than salad but that is great either way. I did double the sauce recipe because I doubled the veggies like I usually do in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This dish was excellent! The sauce tastes just like something from Trader Joes. I will say I could not find Spelt from our local QFC (which is odd considering they have almost anything). I substituted the spelt for quinoa and like I said, this was great! I think you could easily substitute the spelt for any number of things with good results, say some kind of asian style noodle or even brown rice. I don't think white rice would be as good, especially something with a sweet flavor like Jasmin rice. I'll definitely be making this again, only with Spelt, which I'm hoping exists at Whole Foods...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
One of the best things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the first time I've ever commented and it's because I absolutely LOVED this salad!! Yum yum yum!!!! Perfect spicyness and such a completely balanced meal. I did add Napa Cabbage to the mix and I used Kamut since I didn't have any spelt. I also through in some chicken bouillon when I boiled the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Okay, I didn't try the whole recipe because this was a last minute thing, but I made the dressing for an oriental chicken salad and it was delicious. I also substituted 1 tbsp. sweet chile sauce for the cayenne and serrano peppers which probably toned it down a little (I have four little eaters). It made a delicious marinade for the chicken and an excellent dressing. I will never buy peanut sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States