Spicy Chicken and Spelt Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a great all inclusive recipe. Really this has all you need for a complete meal. I recommend an app. or edamame (just buy the stuff you can steam!) and you will have a nice, healthy Asian-ish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I have made this so many times and it is always a big hit. The only changes we make are barley for spelt, and tamarin for soy sauce. :D I have made this for several potlucks, served over lettuces leaves. Great fresh summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Delicious! I have been looking for a good spelt recipe for years, and now I have found it! I don't eat peanut butter, so I used tahini instead. This dish is perfect both hot and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ingrid
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Kids loved it! Really flavorful and good texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Used Quinoa instead of spelt - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved it! A little too spicy for the kids but they don't eat anything but hot dogs anyway. I couldn't find spelt so I subbed out cooked quinoa instead. This also shortened the cooking time. I will make this again. It is a lot of chopping and not a fast meal, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this tonight and it was very good. Three out of four of us really enjoyed it, which is a close to a hit as anything other than ice cream gets in our house. I love getting a new way to use an unusual grain. Spelt is delicious and the nutty texture went well with the peanut sauce. I did think the final dish was a bit salty between the soy sauce and the salted spelt water so next time I will not salt the water and wait until the end to add any salt. I did not have any cabbage so I substituted in broccoli so the dish came out more stir fry than salad but that is great either way. I did double the sauce recipe because I doubled the veggies like I usually do in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This dish was excellent! The sauce tastes just like something from Trader Joes. I will say I could not find Spelt from our local QFC (which is odd considering they have almost anything). I substituted the spelt for quinoa and like I said, this was great! I think you could easily substitute the spelt for any number of things with good results, say some kind of asian style noodle or even brown rice. I don't think white rice would be as good, especially something with a sweet flavor like Jasmin rice. I'll definitely be making this again, only with Spelt, which I'm hoping exists at Whole Foods...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
One of the best things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the first time I've ever commented and it's because I absolutely LOVED this salad!! Yum yum yum!!!! Perfect spicyness and such a completely balanced meal. I did add Napa Cabbage to the mix and I used Kamut since I didn't have any spelt. I also through in some chicken bouillon when I boiled the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States