Spicy Cheesy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Delicious! I wanted to eat the whole dish. My kids usually dont like refried beans as a side, but they actually ate it all. No leftovers for me! I guess I will have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I was looking for a easy but tasty recipe for refried beans for when I'm in a hurry, and this is definitely it! We've made it with spicy and regular beans, and it's good both ways. I like the recipe just the way it is, but I have to admit that my husband is right, it does taste very much like cream cheese that way, and he didn't care for that as much. So, we only put half the cream cheese when we make it and everyone is happy with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Just when my family thought that refried beans couldn't get any better........someone adds cream cheese. I only made one change and that was using pepper-jack instead of cheddar. We fought over these. No, really. My family said they want these beans again........tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used regular refried beans (not spicy) and have made this recipe dozens of times with spectacular results. Sometimes I add some frozen corn or use a "Four Cheese Mexican" mix instead of regular cheddar. I've had nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was really good. A bit too much garlic for me, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Well, this was not the prettiest thing, but boy was it yummy! I only had regular refreid beans, so I used those and added a bit of cayenne in with the mix. My cream cheese was right out of the fridge, so I just put the flame to low and added it in, so that it would melt and combine easier. We really enjoyed these, and I will def be making them again...great way to do something different w/ refried beans! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good, despite the fact that I did not use spicy refried beans, as I wanted to use what I had on hand. A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe, yankeesfan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a delicious refried bean recipe! Adding the cream cheese... what a great idea! This side dish will give your main dish some hefty competition for center stage. I also didn't have spicy refried beans so I added 1/8 tsp Cayenne, and I think next time I'll add even more. I also used a mixture of pepper-jack and cheddar cheese. The only thing I'd caution about the recipe is the serving sizes: the recipe says it makes 6 servings, but those would be 6 measly little servings that would only leave you sad and wanting more (each serving would be about 1/3 of a cup, which might be a true "serving," but most people tend to eat more than that for beans). I made the recipe for a dinner with 6 people, and after making one batch, decided I needed to double the recipe. I'm glad I did because at the end of the night there was only a spoonful left, and everyone commented on how yummy they were and kept going back for 2nds, 3rds, and 4ths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
When my kids tell me something is sooo good it rates top with me! So simple to make and very tasty. I don't know if they'll eat their refried beans plain ever again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Delicious and easy. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States