Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Made 2 batches, the first exactly as the recipe instructed except that I used regular crushed hot peppers as I could not find the Korean sort. Most grocery stores with an asian section now carry fish sauce, though it is generallt labled "Thai" fish sauce. Even after much rinsing of the cabbage this recipe was so salty that if any fermentation took place the tingle was lost in the brine. So then... I took the advice of another reviewer and cut the salt in half. This still drew out the water beautifully. I also like a bit more ginger in my Kimchi, so I omitted the ground ginger and added 2 (1") pieces of sliced dried ginger and 2 Tbsp of diced crystalized (candied/ sugared) ginger. Also added a Tbsp of whole black peppercorns. After 4 days in the closet and a day in the 'fridge the Kimchee was bubbly and yummy! This was very easy to make, and the ingredients are inexpensive. I won't be going back to the jar stuff from the grocery store! I understand every Korean Kimchi maker has his/her secret recipe, so just keep adjusting yours until you find what you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is one of the easier kimchi recipes I've come across. Some people may find it a little to salty or spicy. There are milder recipes out there, some with low sodium. "Fish sauce" is a rather non-specific ingredient. Since I'm allergic to shrimp, I usually try to find the kind which doesn't contain shrimp, even though it is usually a primary ingredient in kimchi. Kimchi is an acquired taste for some people. I hated it at first, but even so, I kept craving it. I now eat it every day. It is super-healthy and low calorie. Korean food in general is great if you are trying to lose weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love, love, love kimchi. This came out a little salty for me so I cut the salt in half. It still drew the water out of the cabbage leaves and it all reduced well. I thought that I would get a little creative and added sesame oil for an additional flavor. My Korean friends told me to eat the kimchi quickly as oil will cause it to spoil. How do you spoil fermented (spoiled) cabbage? Anyway, it tasted great, but I didn't feel like eating two quarts of kimchee that quickly. My friends were happy with that. If you have ever heard the term "kimchi breath" you'll know what I mean. As a previous reviewer stated, I hated kimchee at first, particularly the smell of it. But now I crave it. I'll eat it with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. By the way, a serving is like a quarter cup. Small, but loaded with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
As I pulled up the recipe to make this for the 2nd time, I was reminded to help others by rating the recipe. It is so delicious and so authentic, we can't get enough of it. First introduced to Kimchi in the early 70's, this is probably the recipe that has the most authentic taste, just like we had in Seoul. I add slices of Asian radish as well...they make for great additional texture with their crispness. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Whoo hoo! I don't have to dole out five bucks a pop for a container of kimchi anymore! (It's very easy to go through that in a week or less, so this is great.) I couldn't find Korean chile powder, but I did find hot pepper paste in the refrigerated section. The label said it's from South Korea, so I thought that might do the trick and it has. I used the amount of salt the recipe called for, and after rinsing it very well and squeezing out the extra water, it wasn't too salty. Next time, I'm going to try adding salted shrimp and slices of jicama or asian radish, like other reviewers suggested. I might also try subbing bok choy for the napa cabbage since it's a bit easier to come by, but very similar. Anyway, I'm DEFINITELY going to make this again. Thank you for sharing! Edited to say BEWARE: The second time I made this, it sprayed all over the place when I opened it after waiting the four days the recipe calls for. (It was like when you open a 2 liter of soda that's been shaken.) So, yes, beware! (It still tasted great, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
THIS IS WAY TOO SALTY!!! Our cabbage was wasted! Please next time check your ingredients... next trial i will make the salt tbps instead. OMG, it was so disappointing! wasted all time and efforts, cabbage and all the ingredients. PLEASE CHECK YOUR INGREDIENTS FOR OTHERS NOT TO HAPPEN THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is AWESOME!! My husband was just stationed in Korea, so i thought i would give it a try, hoping to get close to that very addicting korean dish....Blew it out of the park!! said it was better than the kimchi he had in korea:) I also cut the salt to 1/3 C and didnt put as many onions. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunset, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
wow, i really love this recipe except i used chinese chile paste instead of the powder. I also reduced the salt to 1/3c, but all in all the best recipe i've found online
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have tried to make numeous version of this using different vegetables that's not typically used for asian food. So far, the mexican root vegetable called "jicamo" worked out best. It gave nice satifying crunch that stayed till the last bite. Wash and peel jicamo and cut into 1/4 in. thick slices or cut to the size of french fries. Either way will work nicely, just make sure to pre- season with sea salt and drain excess liquid before adding it to Kimchee as not to make the mixture too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Way too much salt for me. I think if the salt were cut down by 90% it would be palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States