Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is one of the easier kimchi recipes I've come across. Some people may find it a little to salty or spicy. There are milder recipes out there, some with low sodium. "Fish sauce" is a rather non-specific ingredient. Since I'm allergic to shrimp, I usually try to find the kind which doesn't contain shrimp, even though it is usually a primary ingredient in kimchi. Kimchi is an acquired taste for some people. I hated it at first, but even so, I kept craving it. I now eat it every day. It is super-healthy and low calorie. Korean food in general is great if you are trying to lose weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love, love, love kimchi. This came out a little salty for me so I cut the salt in half. It still drew the water out of the cabbage leaves and it all reduced well. I thought that I would get a little creative and added sesame oil for an additional flavor. My Korean friends told me to eat the kimchi quickly as oil will cause it to spoil. How do you spoil fermented (spoiled) cabbage? Anyway, it tasted great, but I didn't feel like eating two quarts of kimchee that quickly. My friends were happy with that. If you have ever heard the term "kimchi breath" you'll know what I mean. As a previous reviewer stated, I hated kimchee at first, particularly the smell of it. But now I crave it. I'll eat it with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. By the way, a serving is like a quarter cup. Small, but loaded with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Made 2 batches, the first exactly as the recipe instructed except that I used regular crushed hot peppers as I could not find the Korean sort. Most grocery stores with an asian section now carry fish sauce, though it is generallt labled "Thai" fish sauce. Even after much rinsing of the cabbage this recipe was so salty that if any fermentation took place the tingle was lost in the brine. So then... I took the advice of another reviewer and cut the salt in half. This still drew out the water beautifully. I also like a bit more ginger in my Kimchi, so I omitted the ground ginger and added 2 (1") pieces of sliced dried ginger and 2 Tbsp of diced crystalized (candied/ sugared) ginger. Also added a Tbsp of whole black peppercorns. After 4 days in the closet and a day in the 'fridge the Kimchee was bubbly and yummy! This was very easy to make, and the ingredients are inexpensive. I won't be going back to the jar stuff from the grocery store! I understand every Korean Kimchi maker has his/her secret recipe, so just keep adjusting yours until you find what you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Way too much salt for me. I think if the salt were cut down by 90% it would be palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have tried to make numeous version of this using different vegetables that's not typically used for asian food. So far, the mexican root vegetable called "jicamo" worked out best. It gave nice satifying crunch that stayed till the last bite. Wash and peel jicamo and cut into 1/4 in. thick slices or cut to the size of french fries. Either way will work nicely, just make sure to pre- season with sea salt and drain excess liquid before adding it to Kimchee as not to make the mixture too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
As I pulled up the recipe to make this for the 2nd time, I was reminded to help others by rating the recipe. It is so delicious and so authentic, we can't get enough of it. First introduced to Kimchi in the early 70's, this is probably the recipe that has the most authentic taste, just like we had in Seoul. I add slices of Asian radish as well...they make for great additional texture with their crispness. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
wow, i really love this recipe except i used chinese chile paste instead of the powder. I also reduced the salt to 1/3c, but all in all the best recipe i've found online
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I took other people's reviews into account before I made this kimchee. I only used 3oz of salt. It is still EXTREMELY salty!!! Other than that, it tastes great. Has a lot of potential. I'll make it again, but will only use a couple tablespoons of salt at the most and let the cabbage sit in the salt for 3-4 hours instead of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This could be very good but I agree it is MUCH too salty for my taste. I made it a second time and only used enough salt to cover the cabbage before setting it. Then washing it thoroughly before covering in the dressing. Much much better IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very nice. Very easy. I probably close to doubled the spice because I love VERY spicy food. (I have been known to eat spoonfuls of chili sauce and I used to eat hot sauce sandwiches as a child). I cut the salt in half as was recommended by some other reviewers but found that it was still extremely salty. I have a feeling I have to fault myself, and say that I probably didn't rinse it well enough. =) The end result was very very tasty. Everyone in my family who tried it liked it, and I have some picky family members! My dad said it tasted like the outside of "spicy cabbage rolls". I also liked it better than I've liked the store bought or restaurant Kimchi I have had. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States