Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
As there are only two of us, I only made half the recipe. Using one head of cabbage and 1/4 cup of salt, it was still way too salty. Next time I'll cut down on the salt, or rinse better. The overall flavor is DELICIOUS, I couldn't wait for 4 days !!! I wouldh've eaten the whole bowl that day, had it not been so salty. I LOVE THIS RECIPE and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lindon, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Whoo hoo! I don't have to dole out five bucks a pop for a container of kimchi anymore! (It's very easy to go through that in a week or less, so this is great.) I couldn't find Korean chile powder, but I did find hot pepper paste in the refrigerated section. The label said it's from South Korea, so I thought that might do the trick and it has. I used the amount of salt the recipe called for, and after rinsing it very well and squeezing out the extra water, it wasn't too salty. Next time, I'm going to try adding salted shrimp and slices of jicama or asian radish, like other reviewers suggested. I might also try subbing bok choy for the napa cabbage since it's a bit easier to come by, but very similar. Anyway, I'm DEFINITELY going to make this again. Thank you for sharing! Edited to say BEWARE: The second time I made this, it sprayed all over the place when I opened it after waiting the four days the recipe calls for. (It was like when you open a 2 liter of soda that's been shaken.) So, yes, beware! (It still tasted great, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
well...i feel like kind of a babo because i "forgot" to wash the salt off the cabbage before adding the various seasonings, and it turned out really salty. this may or may not be the reason people keep saying their kimchi comes out really salty, so just remember to wash the salt off so you don't end up feeling like a babo D: past the salt, however, the kimchi was pretty good, and i will try again tomorrow hopefully with better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
As noted in other comments, used 1/3c salt. Have not tried the addition of Jicama or Asian Radishes yet, but definitely will for extra crunch and texture variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
i rly want to give this a good review but it deserves a 3. ONLY because it is too salty! i recommend using a 1/3 or LESS, and only soaking for about 3-4 hrs instead of 6! the rest of the recipe is great, just adjsut the salt! author of the recipe you really need to change it from 1 1/4 to 1/3 cup or less of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very nice. Very easy. I probably close to doubled the spice because I love VERY spicy food. (I have been known to eat spoonfuls of chili sauce and I used to eat hot sauce sandwiches as a child). I cut the salt in half as was recommended by some other reviewers but found that it was still extremely salty. I have a feeling I have to fault myself, and say that I probably didn't rinse it well enough. =) The end result was very very tasty. Everyone in my family who tried it liked it, and I have some picky family members! My dad said it tasted like the outside of "spicy cabbage rolls". I also liked it better than I've liked the store bought or restaurant Kimchi I have had. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This could be very good but I agree it is MUCH too salty for my taste. I made it a second time and only used enough salt to cover the cabbage before setting it. Then washing it thoroughly before covering in the dressing. Much much better IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I took other people's reviews into account before I made this kimchee. I only used 3oz of salt. It is still EXTREMELY salty!!! Other than that, it tastes great. Has a lot of potential. I'll make it again, but will only use a couple tablespoons of salt at the most and let the cabbage sit in the salt for 3-4 hours instead of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
wow, i really love this recipe except i used chinese chile paste instead of the powder. I also reduced the salt to 1/3c, but all in all the best recipe i've found online
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
As I pulled up the recipe to make this for the 2nd time, I was reminded to help others by rating the recipe. It is so delicious and so authentic, we can't get enough of it. First introduced to Kimchi in the early 70's, this is probably the recipe that has the most authentic taste, just like we had in Seoul. I add slices of Asian radish as well...they make for great additional texture with their crispness. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States