Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is my second batch. I use regular American Cabbage....cheaper than Napa...what I do for the salt is sprinkle some on my cutting board and chop and roll it around. You can always add more. I don't like a lot of salt either. The beauty of this receipe is that you can make it your own. Today I'm trying it with some sliced carrot and a diced apple. I will use brown sugar instead of white sugar and I found a spicy sweet red pepper paste. Didn't feel like spending $7.00 on a spice I wasn't sure I would like. This is the easiest recipe I have found for kimchi. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This will make your recipe easier,(or not depending on you :) ) you don't have to salt the cabbage. You can mix it all together and salt to taste(1/2 cup or so) let it set in a covered tub/large bowl for 24hrs, put it jars and refrigerate. We add 2 pears, 2 apples,(Blend one with the 1/2 onion)2 leaks(instead of the green onion) 1-2 oranges, one lemon, 1 Korean radish, 3-4 sliced carrots and 1 tablespoon honey instead sugar. Make sure you get the right Korean pepper powder. If you don't know go to your local Korean store and ask. BTW there are only 7000 known kimchi recipes in the library in Korea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Everything great except way to much salt.Quarter the salt and rinse well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have not made this recipe yet, however for those of you who cant find the Korean pepper powder try going to an exclusive aisian market (which is normally run by Koreans) and ask for " KO CH'U GA RU " They should know exactly what you're talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It is super easy! As much as we eat kimchi around here it is a life saver. I had tried other recipies for kimchi and it never turned out right. If the recipe seems to salty for you make sure you rinse your cabbage well before adding spices. Also if it is too hot for you add more sugar. Thanks for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
WAY TOO SALTY. I read a bunch of reviews before making this (which I do for all the recipes on this site) and listened to other reviewers and cut the salt by a third.... still too salty. I can't imagine enjoying the original recipe. The flavor was good, but the salt totally ruined it, had to throw away the whole batch. My husband, who loves kimchi, was stationed in Korea in the military and had authentic kimchi thought it was way too salty and couldn't eat it. If you want to make this, I would use like maybe a couple of teaspoons of salt at the absolute MOST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
awful wasted time half salt and everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamarg54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe twice... the first time was WAAAAAYYYY too salty. The second batch I toned down to 2/3 cup of salt, and it was still pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great simple recipe! I used korean chili paste, fresh thai peppers, 1 1/4 cups salt... it came out just fine, but I would put emphasis on rinsing and wringing out in step 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States