Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have tried to make numerous version of this using different vegetables that's not typically used for Asian food. So far, the Mexican root vegetable called "jicama" worked out best. It gave nice satifying crunch that stayed till the last bite. Wash and peel jicama and cut into 1/4 in. thick slices or cut to the size of french fries. Either way will work nicely, just make sure to pre- season lightly with sea salt and drain excess liquid before adding it to Kimchee as not to make the mixture too watery. For a varied version, you can add a few drops of sesame seed oil for more early Spring style Korean Kimchee, using more green leafy cabbage. Be sure to eat these as soon as possible, without going through the fermenting process as the oil in the Kimchee will start taste rancid in just a few short days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySong09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great kimchi! I brine cure the cabbage and rinse once. That gets the salt just right. I also use chili caribe vs. Korean chili because that is what I have on hand. I make two batches a year. I pack it in pint jars after the stormy ferment and LIGHTLY seal the lids. It will last months in the fridge that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I love this recipe. For me it was a great starting point. I agreed with the to salty issue so I made some changes myself. I make my KimChi bye the 5 Gallon bucket. I use a 1/4 cup of pickling salt dissolved in water and put it into a spray bottle. as I load my bucket with the layers of vegetables I mist the layer with the salty water mixture. I then let it sit 4-5 days because of the diluted salt mixture then pour off the excess liquid, rinse the cabbage really well and then add the rest of my vegetables. The cabbage and the otger vegetables will still release water because of the remaining salt. As I said, I use the recipe as my guide. I Also add Carrots (6), but I use my vegetable peeler and have long thin strips of carrots instead of chunks. I will also add thin slices of green, red, orange, and yellow peppers. I also found that a small ginger root shredded, 3 to 5 jalapeno's peppers sliced thin, regular and red cabbage in addition to the recipe's Napa cabbage. Also, I love Garlic. I will add approximately 3 lbs of thin sliced garlic to the mix. that's pretty much it for the vegetables and prep.. the rest of the recipe is spice or flavor to your liking. once I have the spices and all the vegetables mixed together I let it sit for a week in the coolest part of the house or garage depending on the time of the year. once it sits for the week, its perking is on it's way. I pour off the excess liquid, put the remaining in sealed glass jars into the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Berry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I changed it up some but turned out great. 1. Did not measure the salt but added it to layers as I drained the water off and hand mixed as I went. 2. Used 5tsp of red pepper and 1tsp of paprika. Also like garlic so used the whole bulb, 1tsp of sesame seed oil and 1tsp of sesame seeds 3. Used crock from crock pot. Placed plastic wrap on top when filled and wrapped it to the sides inside. Filled 1gal zip lock bag with water and placed that on top of this first layer of wrap. Sealed the top with plastic wrap and set the lid on. Set in the basement four days and turned out spicy nice and not to salty. I also soaked and rinsed well. Surprised as this my first try at making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Use 1/4 cup of salt,rinse before adding anything else.Use diced ginger,not ground.Do not seal the container,it could explode.Just cover with a cloth for 5-7 days at room temperature,then seal and put in fridge.Always use glass container,plastic breaks down and ruins taste,metal will degrade as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is a nice, simple way to make cabbage kimchi, but for those who find it is too salty, remember that you have to thoroughly rinse the cabbage after salting. I do it by dumping the cabbage into a large bowl of water, then agitating with my hands for about 20 seconds. Repeat this step 2-3 times, then do a finishing rinse in a colander. This will remove all the excess salt. Also, you can substitute 1 Tbs of salted fermented shrimp (available at any asian market) for the fish sauce. I find that minced fresh ginger works better than powdered ginger as well. You can also add some grated and/or cubed daikon radish and/or carrot (use a veg peeler to get nice, thin strips)for a heartier kimchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I can fix the saltiness issue. I've made kimchi a few times and this recipe is very similar to the one I use and love. After you rub the salt into the cabbage and let it sit for only about 30 minutes, you should then immerse the cabbage in a large bowl of water for 2 hours. Put a dinner plate on the top to make sure all the cabbage is submerged. The salt's role is to kill the bad bacteria and only add a teeny bit of flavor. After it's done soaking rinse the cabbage very thoroughly. I usually put it in a colander, rinse it well by hand and then rinse it in a water bath 2 or 3 times. Changing the water each time. Kimchi is one of those foods that takes a loooong time to make. I usually put everything that this recipe has and some diakon matchsticks into a mason jar with a rubber seal in a cabinet for 3-5 days (pushing the contents below the surface of the brine everyday) and then refridgerate for a week. Then, boom, it's kimche eating time! Added a photo of mine just for the heck of it. That's an 8 cup mason jar. Larger than most. Bud Ice is not part of the recipe, but when you complete everything at 2am, like I did that time, it might find its way into the photo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I sprinkle the salt as I layer since a lot of people said it's really salty. Then I let it sit in room temperature and mix the veggies with my hands. It only takes less than 2 hour for the water to come out. I rinse it 3 times to make sure all the salt are rinse off. Then I use fresh chopped ginger instead of ground, and I use half korean chile powder and half korean chile paste. The mix turns out really good. The only problem is...I put in container and store in my pantry for 4 days. Nice and dark and dry. On the 4th day, OMG it is sooooooo sour!!! I should of just let it sit for a day then put it in the fridge. So this batch will only use for kimchi soup. Will make another batch to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Okay. I read about the nutritional benefits of kimchi so before I made this recipe, I bought a small jar from the store to try just to be sure I'd like it. I did really liked it but did not like the price. I found this recipe and read all of the reviews first. Here is what I did. I cut up 1 head of napa cabbage and 1 head of bok choy then put it in zip lock bags. I just sprinkled with salt from my salt shaker...likely less than 1/2 tsp for each of the 2 bags. I let it sit on the counter for about 4 hours then rinsed well. Added jicama, fresh ginger (a lot!), and grated carrot in addition to stated ingredients. Waited 3 days-outside temps starting to warm up! Noticed bubbles so just put the 2 jars in the fridge. Tasted it and it was better than the store bought jar and not salty at all. I will likely try many of the suggested ingredients in the future because I loved making this and really enjoy eating it! Thank you for the recipe and all of the reviews as I always read them and learn from personal tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
As written after squeezing out the water I have no liquid left to cover the vegetables. I added a tiny bit of salt (I cut down on original amount and am worried about spoilage) and topped off with kefir whey. Results in four days. Stay tuned. **People who say it is way too salty. It needs to sit and ferment for at least a week. The salt will mellow. I do not feel it needs this amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States