Spicy Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I love these! Quick, easy, great for kids to help out with. I only changed one thing. I added 1/4 brown sugar and only 3/4 white sugar. Cookies came out very soft and chewy and stayed that way for days. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These are really good, and so easy to make, too! I took the suggestions of the other reviewers and used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar, and I also added more nutmeg. They go great with an afternoon cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I love these! I think I might actually like the chilled dough better than the final cookies. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
These were sooo good. I omited the cinnimon and nutmeg and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice! They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I used this recipe because I wanted to send my grandparents some Christmas cookies. They always have their tea-time and I thought this recipe sounded perfect for them. After baking ( which put the most wonderful aroma into the house ) my husband and I tried one ( which turned into three, each ) and now I am definitely going to bake some more batches! This recipe will surely be a favorite of mine for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
These are good, and easy. However, seems to be missing something. Probably a good idea to follow other reviewers suggestions to add more spices or use brown sugar. The only 2 changes I made were to use tub margarine (I don't keep butter as I can't have it) and rolled the cookies in sugar prior to baking. I like the rolling in sugar, but I'd recommend not using tub margarine--too soft! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
These Cookies were very easy to make and they were a hit with my family! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I made this recipe last Christmas. It is really a great kid-friendly recipe that my kids and I made together. I added more nutmeg than in the recipe. I would make it again, I think I would just doctor it up a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Tasty little guys! I thought I would try this recipe as is, but I think that little extra spice and sugar the others mentioned would have made an already great cookie even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were pretty good. My husband didn't care for them at all. I added an extra 1/2 tsp of nutmeg (per other reviewers) and wish I wouldn't have. I did use both brown and white sugar which I think was a good call. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States