Spicy Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I used this recipe because I wanted to send my grandparents some Christmas cookies. They always have their tea-time and I thought this recipe sounded perfect for them. After baking ( which put the most wonderful aroma into the house ) my husband and I tried one ( which turned into three, each ) and now I am definitely going to bake some more batches! This recipe will surely be a favorite of mine for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I love these! Quick, easy, great for kids to help out with. I only changed one thing. I added 1/4 brown sugar and only 3/4 white sugar. Cookies came out very soft and chewy and stayed that way for days. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These are really good, and so easy to make, too! I took the suggestions of the other reviewers and used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar, and I also added more nutmeg. They go great with an afternoon cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
These were sooo good. I omited the cinnimon and nutmeg and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice! They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I love these! I think I might actually like the chilled dough better than the final cookies. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
These are good, and easy. However, seems to be missing something. Probably a good idea to follow other reviewers suggestions to add more spices or use brown sugar. The only 2 changes I made were to use tub margarine (I don't keep butter as I can't have it) and rolled the cookies in sugar prior to baking. I like the rolling in sugar, but I'd recommend not using tub margarine--too soft! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I made this recipe last Christmas. It is really a great kid-friendly recipe that my kids and I made together. I added more nutmeg than in the recipe. I would make it again, I think I would just doctor it up a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Tasty little guys! I thought I would try this recipe as is, but I think that little extra spice and sugar the others mentioned would have made an already great cookie even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
These Cookies were very easy to make and they were a hit with my family! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were pretty good. My husband didn't care for them at all. I added an extra 1/2 tsp of nutmeg (per other reviewers) and wish I wouldn't have. I did use both brown and white sugar which I think was a good call. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States