Spicy Brussels Sprouts and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I have made this several times and my husband and I love it. I make it exactly as written except I do not add the bread crumb topping as I'm trying to lower our carb intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My parents loved this; although my dad complained about me messing with his sprouts when he saw me mixing it, after he had some, the leftovers became "his sprouts". I wanted to quadruple the recipe for company, so I used 1-1/2 cups of sprouts and 1-1/2 cups of carrots, upped the horseradish to 3 teaspoons, and used a little more salt and pepper. I then multiplied the rest by 4. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I substituted a gourmet wasabi sauce for the horseradish and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I used a bag of frozen brussel sprouts from Trader Joes. Since the sprouts were so small, I didn't cut them in half and they cooked faster than the carrots so I pulled them out of the pot early in order to maintain their crispiness. I used spicy horseradish but next time, I will add more since I really enjoyed the tangy taste. I was really suprised at how well these ingredients work together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe, though had wanted it to be a little spicier. Next time I will either add more horseradish or some red pepper flakes. We had it as a side with grilled salmon, and it was a lovely change from the usual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
we really enjoyed this. we opted out of the butter/margarine, using water instead, and it was great. if you use frozen brussel sprouts, i would recommend thawing them in water, skipping the halving part, and then just adding in the carrots. we thawed them in the saucepan, then halved them, and then added the carrots and water. we used onion powder in place of the onion, and ginger instead of horseradish. we also added in some yellow mustard. it's the brussel sprout & carrot combo that really seem to make this dish, and the breadcrumbs. everything else can pretty much be changed. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I don't like brussel sprouts but have a guilt thing about that so I've been looking for a recipe that will magically allow me to like them - this was a good one! The cast of ingredients are unusual but the flavors definitely work well together. Easy to fix, very different and saved me on therapy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This dish got rave reviews at my Christmas Eve dinner. I used homemade mayo to make this dairy and soy free, and I baked a portion without the breadcrumb topping for myself, and it was great. Everyone else ate it with the breadcrumb topping and said it was fantastic. I used 5 cups of fresh brussels sprouts and 5 cups of carrots and scaled the rest of the recipe to match. Baked in a 9x13 dish, and 8 people ate almost 2/3 of it...this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. It was a big hit. I really enjoyed the flavors together. It was something different and I had lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States