Spicy Bratwurst Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Recommend increasing the spice if you like spicy food. I may add a whole jalapeno plus some hot sauce next time. Great alternative when it's not grilling season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very simple & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I want to try this. I intend on it. However I notice that some reviewers brought the rating down below 5 stars after preparing it in a way other than that specified by directions. Ridiculous. The ingredients sound up to par when compared with the other recipes I have tried. This is next on my list. The morons should NOT be allowed to post if they rate the recipe claiming NOT to have followed the instructions. How can these people live with themselves?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was very good. I only give 3 stars because I had to make so many changes to the recipe though. Due to budget constraints I had to use what I had on hand. I wasn't able to do the jalapeno or the gouda. I had a package of 5 large hot italian brats (not precooked) to use and thought it would offset the need for jalapeno in that case but I used 3 strips of thick-cut butcher bacon rather than 6 because they are so thick. I boiled the brats in onion laden water for 10 minutes then grilled until done. I used four-cheese marinara sauce and aged white cheddar, grated. This was a huge hit on a thursday night before payday. I served over rice with steamed italian veggies from Birdseye as a side with lemonade. This was great,, thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I was a little skeptical at first read of this recipe but due to the reviews, I made it. I, also, cooked the bacon first then added to it a whole diced onion and 2 jalapeno peppers. Upon being softened, I added the mushrooms and let cook for a few minutes before adding turkey brats (excellent) and the spaghetti sauce (which I had to buy as I always make from scratch) - used Emeril's Basic Marinara. I spiced it up a bit with some Garlic Powder and Crushed Red Peppers and let it simmer for a couple of hours. I served it over Spaetzle which seemed to fit the meal just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Oh. my. gosh...Sooo good. I sauted everything together - bacon, onion, jalapeno, and mushrooms - until the bacon was browned and the mushrooms were soft. Worked perfectly! At the end I sprinkled with garlic powder and stirred in some chopped fresh spinach. The sauce turned out grrreat! Instead of serving with rice, I tossed with cheese tortillini. Perfect pairing! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
yummyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy in my tummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very tasty. Used 1 jalapeno and not very spicy, but still well reviewed in our household. Could easily make it spicier if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sillie171
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Yummy! I do things a little differently than the recipe. First I cook the bacon separate from the onions, that way the bacon gets really crispy. I also use red pepper flakes instead of the jalapeno peppers. I also leave the cheese and mushrooms out because I don't care for it. And lastly I eat it with pasta instead of rice. It's simple but it's sooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillie171

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wasn't sure if this combo would work but took a chance. It was stellar. I used Classico Spinach Florentine and Cheese pasta sauce. I didn't use any other cheese and just ate it straight from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States