Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Great dish! I added fresh carrots and water chesnuts then served over crispy tofu on a bed of jasmine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
okay, i made this recipe the first time just as the directions mentioned. it was wonderful and everyone really enjoyed it. last night, i added shitake mushrooms and onions. delicious! i will add this one to my book. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This was very good. I added some Asian braising greens to the bok choy, used maple syrup instead of brown sugar, and used chili-garlic sauce instead of red pepper flakes. The flavor was just the right balance of sweet and spicy, although next time I might add another clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Pretty good. I doubled the recipe and added in 6-7 cloves of garlic. I did find the recipe needed a bit of salt. I used vegetarian oyster sauce instead of regular sauce. I cooked the roots of bok choy and when they were almost cooked I added in some julienned carrots and once they were light green I set them aside. After I stir fried some onion and mushrooms and added the leafy part of the bok choy to that. Put that aside and cooked the sauce. Ate this dish with chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good flavor, although I'd cut down on the sugar a bit more! I added several more cloves of garlic, so I'm not sure how the original would taste. Along with the bok choy, I also added matchstick carrots and a few quartered button mushrooms, and I subbed palm sugar for the brown sugar, as I had it on hand. Because of others' warnings that it made a lot of sauce, I added the entire dish to about 2 cups of cooked Japanese noodles (similar to angel hair pasta) at the end of cooking, and it turned out great. I think the recipe would benefit from one or two thai/bird chilis instead of the pepper flakes, so I'm going to try that the next time I make it. Warning for those who are new to bok choy: make sure you soak it well to assure all sand/dirt is gone. I bought mine from the farmers market and had to change the soaking water 4x until the sand was gone! It would have been awful if I'd have not realized that necessity ahead of time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was truly outstanding! I didn't have enough bok choy but I still made a full recipe of the sauce so it was pretty "saucy". I just let the bok choy sit in the sauce for a minute or two and then removed it to a separate serving dish. Outstanding! I didn't even think I liked bok choy before this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Good flavor, but I would double the sauce and let it cook longer to thicken even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Pretty decent recipe, nothing terribly exciting, but given the ease of making it and the relatively short list of ingredients, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very tasty, but the receipe does not indicate what to do with the other half of the oil. I used it to sautee shrimp to add to the dish. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Thanks to Fishyon for pointing out the error in my recipe. In step 3, I forgot to say what to do with the other half of the oil. Step 3 should read: Heat half of the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the bok choy stems first; stir fry for a few minutes or until the pieces start to turn a pale green. When stems are almost cooked, add the remaining oil and the leaves; cook and stir until leaves are wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and transfer the bok choy to a serving dish. Pour the sauce into the skillet or wok, and set over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until sauce has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes. Pour over the bok choy and toss lightly to coat. Once the recipe is published, Allrecipes will not make changes to it. They suggested that I post a comment here which seems odd since I have to include a rating. Naturally, it gets five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States